1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »K-State engineering honor society inducts new members

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


K-State engineering honor society inducts new members

Friday, May 10, 2024



MANHATTAN — The Kansas State University Steel Ring Honor Society has inducted 24 new members for the 2024-2025 academic year.

Steel Ring is an honor society composed of seniors in the Carl R. Ice College of Engineering. Membership is based on leadership, academic achievement, service and engagement. Steel Ring has been a part of the K-State engineering tradition since 1927.

One of the group's primary tasks each year is planning and organizing the College of Engineering Open House in the spring semester. Steel Ring also recognizes students and faculty at the annual engineering leadership reception and participates in leadership and service activities around the college.

The faculty advisor for the group is Paul Snider, professor of practice in the College of Engineering.

The following K-State seniors are the new members of Steel Ring:

Trevor Chavez, industrial engineering, and Ashby Schwanz, architectural engineering, both from Andover; Allison Kirby, industrial engineering, Greensburg; Austin Burenheide, chemical engineering; Lecompton; Marleigh Hutchinson, environmental engineering, Manhattan; Ella Carlson, computer science, Joshua Fitzwater, electrical engineering, and Colby Karnei, electrical engineering, all from Olathe; Abby Collins, architectural engineering, Overland Park; Luke Coverdale, computer engineering, Shawnee; Keith Hancock, civil engineering, Westmoreland; Eleanor Braynock, biological systems engineering, and Allison Wolf, chemical engineering, both from Wichita.

From out of state: Makenna Long, civil engineering, Canon City, Colorado; Annalisa Ochner, electrical engineering, Evans, Georgia; Abbie Banyas, architectural engineering, Pleasant Hill, Iowa; Cody Kottke, industrial engineering, Eagan, Minnesota; Carter Warta, industrial engineering, Victoria, Minnesota; Jake Dederer, mechanical engineering, Chesterfield, Missouri; Obi Oligbo, electrical engineering, Kansas City, Missouri; Kayleigh Bednar, industrial engineering, Graysen Yahne, architectural engineering, and Bryce Zavadil, mechanical engineering, all from Liberty, Missouri; and Joe Schmidt, architectural engineering, Parkville, Missouri.

Media contact

Division of Communications and Marketing


Carl R. Ice College of Engineering

News tip

Andover, Greensburg, Lecompton, Manhattan, Olathe, Overland Park, Shawnee, Westmoreland and Wichita, Kansas; Canon City, Colorado; Evans, Georgia; Pleasant Hill, Iowa; Eagan and Victoria, Minnesota; Chesterfield, Kansas City, Liberty and Parkville, Missouri.

Written by

Grant Guggisberg