1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Davids-Dunham Award call for applications

K-State Today

October 23, 2019

Davids-Dunham Award call for applications

Submitted by Loren Greenman

The College of Arts and Sciences Diversity Committee invites faculty applicants for several professional development awards to support research, writing, teaching or other professional development. The awards are available as reimbursement for previous participation or for future participation.

Professional development here is broadly defined. Previous awards have been given in amounts ranging from $500-$1,000 for books, memberships in national societies such as the National Center for Faculty Development and Diversity, and productivity seminars. We encourage applicants to apply for the development opportunities of their choosing and to apply for the full cost of the program or materials.

This award will be given preferentially to junior faculty on the path to tenure, although mid-career faculty are also encouraged to apply. This award is intended for faculty who identify with underrepresented minorities in their discipline, the College of Arts and Sciences, or their department. Faculty whose scholarly work promotes and studies diversity, but who are not themselves from an underrepresented group, may also be considered.

To apply, please submit a CV and a statement — not to exceed 500 words — to cas-diversity@k-state.edu. The statement should clearly explain the professional benefits of the program to underrepresented faculty and/or to promoting work that diversifies Eurocentric and masculinist canonical boundaries of knowledge. Statements should also include the name and cost of the program and the dates — past or expected future — of participation.

Review of applications will begin Nov. 22.

Note: The Davids-Dunham Award is named for Sharice Davids and Ann Dunham. These individuals represent Kansas in some way, have contributed to a discipline included in the College of Arts and Sciences and have made tremendous contributions to our society. Their work embodies the spirit of the candidates who win this award.