1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Kinesiology department awards scholarships at annual banquet

K-State Today

May 8, 2019

Kinesiology department awards scholarships at annual banquet

Submitted by College of Human Ecology

kinesiology banquet

The kinesiology department in the College of Human Ecology recently hosted its annual scholarship banquet, awarding 32 students with $21,000 in scholarships. This is the largest number of scholarships to date for the department to award.

"We had a wonderful evening recognizing our outstanding group of award recipients," said Craig Harms, professor and department head. "These undergraduate and graduate students are truly exemplary and we are pleased that nearly 150 people in attendance were able to celebrate this event."

Below is the list of scholarship and award recipients.

Theresa Koch, junior, Baileyville, received the Department of Kinesiology-Ice Family Scholarship.
Kailee Carter, junior, Salina, received the Mrs. Pauline Compton Scholarship.
Rachael Williams, junior, Clay Center, received the Katherine Horridge Smith Kinesiology Scholarship.
Megan Fink, junior, Hutchinson, received the Ito Family Scholarship.
Hanna Bott, junior, Palmer, received the Eva Lyman Memorial Scholarship.
Rebecca Clancy, sophomore, De Soto, received the Dr. Kenneth D. Mosely Scholarship.
Jordan Carinder, junior, Cherryvale, received the Barbara Moses Memorial Scholarship.
Ashley Pieper, sophomore, Atchison, received the Larry Noble Scholarship.

The following students received the Mary Lois Rynders Skyes Memorial Scholarship:

Jared Yankovich, sophomore, Lenexa.
Kristin Ekholm, junior, Little River.
Danielle Kastner, junior, Wichita.

The following students received the Outstanding Kinesiology Sophomore Scholarship:

Lillian Bolte, Valley Center.
Kaylee Simon, Pierceville.
Isabella Rodrequez, Kansas City, Missouri.

The following students received the Outstanding Kinesiology Junior Scholarship:

Josie Wilson, Jewell.
Jacqueline Smith, Kansas City, Missouri.
Hope Beach, Pierceville.
Joshua Morgan, Leawood.

The following students received the Outstanding Kinesiology Senior Scholarship:

Jena Winkler, Sabetha.
Preston Judd, Hayden, Alabama.
Amanda Cox, Hugoton.
Hunter Jobbins, Wichita.

The Outstanding sophomore, junior and senior scholarships are awarded based on the students' academic classification for the 2019-2020 school year.

Melitza Ramirez, senior, Dodge City, received the Outstanding Concurrent Student Scholarship.

Tory Thomson, freshman, Riley, and Julia Pechar, sophomore, Papillion, Nebraska, were awarded the Leadership Excellence in Kinesiology Scholarship.

The following students were awarded the Service Excellence in Kinesiology Scholarship:

Jeremy Newport, sophomore, Andover.
Aaron Shamburg, junior, Beloit.
Rebecca Costello, sophomore, Wichita.
Victor Andrews, master's student, Reno, Nevada, received the Kinesiology Challenge Scholarship.
Carrie Mershon, doctoral student, Lawrence, received the Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year award.
Andrew Horn, master's student, Christiana, Tennessee, received the Outstanding Graduate Master's Student award.
Trenton Colburn, doctoral student, Belleville, received the Outstanding Graduate Doctoral Student award. 

Four students were also recognized for their recent awards from the American Kinesiology Association. Aidan Murray, senior, Salina, was named a 2019 Undergraduate Scholar. Kennedy Felice, master's student, Manhattan, was named a 2019 Masters Scholar and Brittany Hollerbach, doctoral student, Overland Park, was named a 2019 Doctoral Scholar. Shane Hammer, doctoral candidate, Cherryvale, was awarded with the 2019 Graduate Student Writing Award.


In this issue

News and research
Human resources, benefits and training
Kudos, publications and presentations
University life