1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »College of Veterinary Medicine presents scholarships and awards during annual banquet

K-State Today

May 20, 2024

College of Veterinary Medicine presents scholarships and awards during annual banquet

Submitted by Joe Montgomery

Three Doctor of Veterinary Medicine graduates receive the Mellenthin-Chapman scholarship award, from left: Yuri Lee, Grace Wilson and Gabrielle Lammons with Clinical Assistant Professor Cody Dressler, who presented the award.

The Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine hosted its 2024 Senior Banquet May 7 at the K-State Student Union Grand Ballroom. The college presented $282,000 in scholarships to graduating seniors, with more than 75 awards presented, some to multiple recipients.

"The Senior Awards Banquet recognizes students who have excelled during the clinical training program," said Bonnie Rush, Hodes family dean of the college. "A few scholarships reward exceptional academic performance, but most awards are intended to recognize students for their hands-on performances while working with pets and livestock. Awardees are selected by the faculty to recognize senior veterinary students who show promise and talent in particular areas of emphasis. It is recognition for doing the work they will do as graduate veterinarians." 

Three groups of students were recognized for completing the requirements for concurrent certificate programs in addition to their Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree studies. Fifteen students were presented with the Food Animal Veterinary Certificate, seven students with the Shelter Medicine Veterinary Certificate and nine students received the Exotic Animal/Zoological Medicine Veterinary Certificate.  

Two annual faculty awards were also presented during the banquet. Emily Klocke, clinical professor in small animal surgery, was selected as the recipient of the 2024 Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teaching Award. Since 1963, the Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teaching Award has been presented at each of the U.S. veterinary colleges to an outstanding teacher who advances the veterinary profession by inspiring students to their highest levels of achievement and professionalism.

The Dr. William and Deanna Pritchard Veterinary Service and Outreach Award was established in 2012 to emphasize the importance of service and outreach in the veterinary profession. This year’s recipient of the Pritchard Award is McArthur Hafen, clinical professor and director of counseling services in the veterinary college.

The Pet Tribute Faculty Award provides senior students with an opportunity to honor a faculty member who distinguishes themselves through exceptional role modelling as a compassionate caregiver and health care professional. This year’s senior class voted for Jessica Zito, clinical assistant professor in small animal emergency services.

In addition to the faculty award, the Pet Tribute House Officer Awards were presented to Emma Pray and Katya Spitznagel, who are both interns in small animal medicine and surgery. The Pet Tribute Award Veterinary Nurse Award was presented to Raycelon Kuntz in the anesthesia service.

The full list of scholarships and awards is posted online.