1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Mechanical and nuclear engineering department hosts award ceremony

K-State Today

December 12, 2023

Mechanical and nuclear engineering department hosts award ceremony

Submitted by Amy Brox

Graduating senior award recipients from the Alan Levin Department of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering.

The Alan Levin Department of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering hosted a party and awards celebration for its fall 2023 graduating seniors at the K-State Student Union on Dec. 5.

Each semester, the department presents its Outstanding Seniors and Most Outstanding Senior awards, as well as its Leadership and Service Award. Department faculty nominate and vote on graduating seniors whom they deem most outstanding for the Most Outstanding Senior Award. The Leadership and Service Award is given by the department head to a student who demonstrates notable leadership and service to the department.

Additionally, two graduating mechanical and nuclear engineering ambassadors, Spencer Funk and Jonah Murray, were recognized for their work with the department. They have given departmental tours to prospective students and assisted with other department events. They will be greatly missed.

Murray also delivered the student address at commencement for the Carl R. Ice College of Engineering on Dec. 9.

Congratulations to all mechanical and nuclear engineering graduates, nominated outstanding students and the award winners.

Outstanding Seniors:

• Spencer Funk.
• James Hole.
• Jonah Murray.
• Mohammed Rasheed.

Most Outstanding Senior:

• Porter Mitchel.

Leadership and Service Award:

• Zander Gregov.