1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »College of Arts and Sciences welcomes Alumni Fellows to campus April 12-14

K-State Today

April 11, 2023

College of Arts and Sciences welcomes Alumni Fellows to campus April 12-14

Submitted by Marcia Locke

K-State Alumni Fellows Graham Garlinghouse and Marty Spartz, Ph.D., will visit the Manhattan campus April 12-14 to present guest lectures and discuss current industry trends with students and faculty.

Garlinghouse and Spartz are two of 12 distinguished alumni announced March 23 as Alumni Fellows by the K-State Alumni Association. Representing the College of Arts and Sciences, Garlinghouse earned his master's degree in political science in 2009, and Spartz earned his doctorate in chemistry in 1990.

Garlinghouse, an entrepreneur specializing in risk, operations and the development of businesses, has started several successful businesses serving the travel and emergency management industries.

In addition to meeting with various faculty members, Garlinghouse will have coffee and cookies with political science students and meet with the Legislative Process class Thursday, April 13. More information is available by contacting Nate Birkhead, political science department head, at birkhead@k-state.edu.

Spartz is a co-founder of Max Analytical Technologies, which designs and produces FTIR-based analytical instrumentation for environmental and chemical process applications. The company was recently acquired by Thermo Fisher Scientific, the world's largest chemical instrumentation company.

Spartz will meet with faculty and students and also give a seminar presentation, "Advances in FTIR Gas Analysis—Measuring % to ppt," at 1:05 p.m. Thursday, April 13, in 4 King Hall. Anyone may attend. More information is available by contacting Christer Aakeroy, chemistry department head, at aakeroy@k-state.edu.

More information about the Alumni Fellows program is at k-state.com/fellows.

The College of Arts and Sciences has more than 20 departments encompassing the arts, humanities, and social and natural sciences.