1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »K-State welcomes its newest class of undergraduate students

K-State Today

September 6, 2022

K-State welcomes its newest class of undergraduate students

Submitted by Mariya Vaughan

On Aug. 21, Kansas State University inaugurated the 2022-2023 academic year by welcoming its newest class of undergraduate and graduate students to campus at the New Student Convocation. This year we welcomed new students to the K-State community at Bill Snyder Family Stadium, with more than 2,500 students, faculty, staff and dedicated K-Staters in attendance.

"In this life, you might see a clear path laid out for you to do some very great work," said Distinguished Young Alumnus James Millsap in his address to the incoming class. "One of your biggest challenges might be understanding that your path to your very best work might not be laid out and that your life's work will be laying the path for yourself and the people who come after you." 

All of the speakers encouraged our new students to have a vision for themselves and their community while pursuing their degrees at K-State, reminding them that building meaningful relationships is a key to their success.

A special thanks to the following departments and individuals for their vision, hard work and dedication to the success of the New Student Convocation at K-State:

Program speakers — President Richard Linton; Provost and Executive Vice President Charles Taber; professors Andrew Smith and Tara Coleman; Distinguished Young Alumni Millsap and Sruthi Narayanan; and student leader Parker Vulgamore.

Very special thanks — Vice Provost for Student Success Jeannie Brown Leonard; K-State Marching Band and Frank Tracz; Division of Communications and Marketing and Chris Jordan; K-State Alumni Association and Amy Button Renz; K-State Athletics; President's Cabinet and Deans' Council; Housing and Dining Services and the resident assistants; K-State First learning assistants; Student Governing Association president and vice president; Student Access Center and Natalie Beharry; our dedicated committee members: Greg Eiselein, Mariya Vaughan, Brent Weaver, Mandi McKinley, Autumn Prosser, Karina Moncayo-Michel, Morgan Greene, Kiley Moody, Nick Lander, Holly Gerke, Whitney Penn, Darius Skillen, Andrew Smith, Brandon Clark, Ashley Stark, Jim Muller and Brett Eakin; and the many volunteers who helped during the event to greet and guide our new students.

In this issue

From the administration
News and research
Shared governance
Human resources, benefits and training
Personnel changes
Kudos, publications and presentations
University life