1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Phi Beta Kappa names Johnson, Hohenbary honorary members

K-State Today

June 3, 2011

Phi Beta Kappa names Johnson, Hohenbary honorary members

Submitted by Stephen Kiefer

James Hohenbary, assistant dean for nationally competitive scholarships, and Laurie Johnson, professor of political science, have been made honorary members of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest and most prestigious academic honor society. The honorary membership was made through K-State's chapter of the honor society.

Both Hohenbary and Johnson were cited for representing the tenets of Phi Beta Kappa.

Hohenbary was recognized for helping undergraduates achieve cultural and academic success through a variety of nationally competitive scholarship program. His efforts have helped K-State rank first or highly in the number of Truman, Rhodes, Marshall, Goldwater and Udall scholarships received by students.

Johnson was recognized for her love of lifelong learning and cultivation of critical thinking, which are key principles of Phi Beta Kappa. She exemplifies these attributes through her classes in political science and through the Primary Text Program, which she conceptualized and has expanded to include many majors.