1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »College of Education honors eight students for excellence

K-State Today

December 17, 2021

College of Education honors eight students for excellence

Submitted by Sarah Harper

Eight new graduates of Kansas State University's College of Education have received awards from the college for excellence, potential and promise. These awards include the fall 2021 Outstanding Undergraduate Student awards given to five outstanding graduates; the fall 2021 Outstanding Future Teacher awards in elementary education and secondary education; and the fall 2021 Outstanding Graduate Student in Education award.

Ian Adams, secondary math education, Olathe, recipient of the Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award, served as a member of the Kansas State University Marching Band and a technology specialist in the College of Education Catalyst Center. His service to the community included working at the Frederick Douglass Recreation Complex in Manhattan and assisting with ELT at the Manhattan High School West Campus after school. His academic honors and achievements include honors for outstanding academic performance for multiple semesters, receiving the NSF Noyce scholarship for math education, the Swart Family scholarship, the Paul Blackwood Memorial Scholarship, the Marching Pride Scholarship, the Robert and Marcy Irby Memorial Scholarship, the Franco Hammel Sjogren Memorial Scholarship and the Foundation Plus Scholarship.

Lindsey Bergner, secondary English education, Pratt, Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award. Her service to the community included serving as a high school bible study teacher, volunteering at Pratt County Food Bank, serving as a 4-H Leader and swine barn superintendent, and being a member of the Lutheran Women’s Missionary League. Her academic honors and achievements included receiving the Charles I. Rankin Scholarship in Education, the K-State Alumni Association Legacy Scholarship, the Clark Brink Memorial Essay Award, the Borck Leadership Scholarship, the Gloria and Michael Konold Education Scholarship and a first-place Swogger primary text certificate.

Emily Orville, elementary education, Mission Viejo, California, recipient of the Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award, served as a member of the Sigma Alpha Lambda Honor Society and an active member of Backcountry Hunter and Anglers. She is a Delta Delta Delta sorority alumna. She also provided service to the community by working at Wonder Workshop, an afterschool program for children. She graduated summa cum laude.

Anna Washburn Williams, secondary English education, Lexington Park, Maryland, recipient of the Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award, served as a College of Education Ambassador, the social media director and content creator for EDCATS from 2019-2020, and a member of the Sigma Kappa sorority. Her academic honors or achievements included receipt of the Tomorrow’s Teacher Scholarship, the Charles and Doris Setterquist Scholarship and the Julie R. Woods Bissey Education Scholarship.

Tel Wittmer, secondary social studies education, Holton, received the Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award. Wittmer served as K-State's 2020 student body president, a College of Education senator, a member of Blue Key Senior Honor Society, a member of the Student Alumni Board and the 2019 K-State Student Ambassador. His academic honors included his nomination for the 2021 Rhodes Scholarship. He is a United States Senate Youth Program alumnus.

Alyssa Gembala, elementary education, Overland Park, received the Outstanding Future Teacher Award in elementary education. Gembala served as a College of Education Ambassador and a campus ministry small group leader. She graduated summa cum laude and received semester honors from 2019-2021.

Jasmine Duarte, physical education/health, Dodge City, was the recipient of the Outstanding Future Teacher Award in secondary education. Duarte served as treasurer for LUPE and as a member of a Hispanic American Leadership organization. She also was a member of the Washburn University cross country and track team before attending K-State.

Tess Hobson, doctoral graduate in counseling and student development, student affairs in higher education, Admire, was the recipient of the Outstanding Graduate Student Award. The graduate student award recognizes excellence in scholarship, outstanding service to the college, university and professional educational organization. Hobson is a member of the Association of Leadership Educators and International Leadership Association. She has also received the Commerce Bank Presidential Award for Distinguished Service to Underrepresented Students at K-State and the K-State Office for Advancement of Science and Engineering Women of Distinction Award.

"Tess is most deserving of this award," said Christy Craft, chair of the special education, counseling and student affairs department and Hobson’s major professor. "While working on her doctorate, she also earned a graduate certificate in social justice education. In her dissertation research, Tess studied storytelling as a pedagogy for racial justice education within an intercultural leadership course. That work, along with other publications of hers, reflect her amazing scholarly ability and passion. While working with Tess, I have appreciated and been inspired by her love for learning, her dedication to her academic goals and her service to the university.”