1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Mathematics department awards $66,000 in scholarships for 2020-2021 academic year

K-State Today

May 18, 2020

Mathematics department awards $66,000 in scholarships for 2020-2021 academic year

Submitted by Tina Orwig

K-State's mathematics department will award approximately $66,000 in scholarships for the 2020-2021 academic year. The department supports so many excellent students as they further their careers and pursue their degrees in mathematics.

The Friends of Mathematics annually celebrates and recognizes achievements by mathematics students at K-State during the previous year. Friends of Mathematics was established as a scholarship fund in 1968 and is backed by the alumni-faculty organization established in 1982, which is dedicated to excellence in mathematics at K-State.

The mathematics department extends it congratulations to the following scholarship award recipients. These scholarships and awards have a monetary value from $20 to $4,000.

Kapila Kottegoda, Ratnapura, Sri Lanka, Hostinsky Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant in Academics Award. 

Colin Williams, Marion, Kenneth and Maria Rector Endowed Scholarship. 

Justin Koegeboehn, Wichita, and James Krzykowski, Olathe, Dr. Leonard E. Fuller Scholarship. 

Sofie Appel, Denver, Colorado, Thomas L. and Elouise J. Miller Scholarship. 

Justin Beteta, Topeka, S. Thomas Parker Memorial Scholarship.

Justin Beteta, Topeka, and James Krzykowski, Olathe, Fung's Achievement Award. 

Peter Fontaine, Mission, Karl Stromberg Memorial Scholarship. 

Ben Listhartke, Kansas City, Missouri, Stromberg Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant in Teaching Award.

Kaleb Cox, Overland Park, Friends of Mathematics Outstanding Senior Award. 

Tahmineh Azizi, Tehran, Iran, Friends of Mathematics Graduate Teaching Assistant Award in Academics. 

Min Ranabhat, Kaski, Nepal, Friends of Mathematics Graduate Teaching Assistant Award in Teaching. 

Joseph Hathaway, Wichita, Dr. William L. Stamey Scholarship.

Kaleb Cox, Overland Park, Trevor and Ali Putnam Award.

Wayne and Ellen Evans Mathematics Scholarship: Conner Broers, Ozawkie; Carson Connard, Spring, Texas; Allison Drouhard, Derby; James Hyun, Hays; Cory Johnson, Strong City; Alex Kuckelman, Lenexa; Kale Stahl, Topeka. 

S. Thomas Parker Competition Awards: Colin Williams, first place, Marion; Erasto Herrera, second place, Kansas City; Jace Smith, second place, Kansas City; Hayden Schmidt, third place, Emporia; James Krzykowski, honorable mention, Olathe; Merrick Dodge, and honorable mention, Liberal. 

The mathematics department expresses the utmost gratitude to the generous donors who made these scholarships possible.