1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Division of Biology awards $78,000 in undergraduate scholarships

K-State Today

May 14, 2020

Division of Biology awards $78,000 in undergraduate scholarships

Submitted by Eve McCulloch

K-State's Division of Biology will award approximately $78,000 in undergraduate scholarships for the 2020-2021 academic year.

The scholarships include a projected $34,000 in continuing renewable June Hull Sherrid Scholarships, currently supporting almost 50 Kansas biology students with health professional career goals. The Division of Biology also recently recognized high achieving students with one-time awards totaling roughly $44,000. Scholarship winners represent all three of the majors offered in the Division of Biology: biology, microbiology, and fisheries, wildlife and conservation biology. The Division of Biology supports so many excellent students as they further their careers and pursue their degrees in biology.

The following students earned one-time awards for the coming academic year:

Miriam Reynaldo, Dale and MaryRose Preston Bosco Family Scholarship.

Dalton Wiggins, Thomas Herrera, Ryan Donnelly and Kiona Freeman, Enloe Family Scholarships.

Hunter Hiegert and Victoria De Souza, Maben Family Scholarship in Biology.

Marian Wilson, Cathryn Haas and Lane Lundeen, Dr. Brian Spooner Fund.

Megan Campbell, Pranav Savanur and Elise Hesseltine, Division of Biology University Distinguished Professors Scholarship.

Olivia Chapman and Adyson Furlong, Larry G. Williams Scholarship.

Hannah Coggeshall, Cole King, Hieu Nguyen and Loren Reed, June Hull Sherrid Scholarship in Biology, which is a separate fund not linked to pre-health.

Sarah Millard, Quinton Burger, Olivia Persigehl, Erin Jones, Katherine Ediger, Veronica Mateo, Jian-Yang Huang, Adrienne Pohl, Anna Dold and Austin Drake, Division of Biology Scholarship. 

Olivia Persigehl, Alan and Carolyn Harms Biology Scholarship. 

Kale Mills, John and Thea Beckman Scholarship. 

Davante Hammer, Clara Bing and Emma Francis, Floyd C. and Berniece Humbert Butel Biology Scholarship.

Thomas Leihsing, Lydia Waner, Kate Odgers, Abigail Rick, Jared Newell, Taylor Wolf, Jordan Colson, Peyton Kavanagh, Charles Worley and Tashongedzwa Mataswa, Robert K. Nabours Scholarship.

The Division of Biology expresses upmost gratitude to the generous donors who made these scholarships possible.