1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Rasheed honored with endowed recognition in civil engineering

K-State Today

July 22, 2019

Rasheed honored with endowed recognition in civil engineering

Submitted by Mary Rankin

Hayder Rasheed, professor of civil engineering

Hayder Rasheed, professor of civil engineering, has been appointed as the Thomas and Connie Paulson Civil Engineering Outstanding Faculty Member, effective July 1.

The award is created through funds to honor Thomas and Connie Paulson on the campus of Kansas State University, and to recruit and retain the highest quality faculty in the Carl R. Ice College of Engineering. Both Kansas State University alumni, Thomas Paulson is a 1973 graduate in civil engineering, and his wife, Connie, a 1973 graduate in arts and sciences.

As a recipient of the Paulson award, Rasheed will receive flexible funding annually for two years designated for additional operating support for assistants, professional travel, equipment or other expenses of the endowed position.

Rasheed joined the civil engineering faculty in 2001. He holds bachelor's and master's degrees from the University of Baghdad, and a doctorate from the University of Texas, all in civil engineering.

Recognition from the Carl R. Ice College of Engineering includes the Charles H. Scholer Faculty Award, Myers-Alford Memorial Teaching Award, James L. Hollis Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, Chi Epsilon Undergraduate Teaching Award, Outstanding Faculty Award from the ASCE student chapter and the Outstanding Graduate Faculty Award.

His research funding agencies include the Kansas Department of Transportation, Midwest Transportation Center, Mid-America Transportation Center and private industry. Because of his sustained effort in fiber-reinforced polymer research, the civil engineering department has become well known in this area of structural engineering research.

With numerous publications to his credit, he also serves as an editorial member for the International Journal of Structural Stability and Dynamics. He serves on several technical committees of the American Concrete Institute and the American Society of Civil Engineers, and has been an invited participant in various forums sponsored by the National Science Foundation and the National Institute of Standards and Technology.