1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Associate professor Baudoin receives TreanorHL Faculty Award

K-State Today

July 3, 2019

Associate professor Baudoin receives TreanorHL Faculty Award

Submitted by Thom Jackson

Genevieve Baudoin, associate professor of architecture in the College of Architecture, Planning & Design, was awarded the TreanorHL Faculty Award for 2019. This award recognizes outstanding efforts by faculty by involving the design profession in the education of our students.

Baudoin teaches Building Construction Systems in Architecture II and Architectural Design Studio, typically at the third-, fourth- and fifth-year levels, as well as graduate seminars. Baudoin's teaching philosophy focuses on encouraging students to develop their big ideas in studio through a grounded understanding in construction systems and a defined relationship to site. This past year, her fifth-year studio has been working on projects in Wichita in coordination with the Wichita American Institute of Architects chapter. She has advised many students who have earned design awards for their work.

Baudoin's background before teaching architecture is as a cellist, and she received her Bachelor of Arts in cello performance and visual arts from Oberlin College. Her Master of Architecture is from the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University. She has worked professionally with both Foster + Partners and Antoine Predock Architect. Her focus as an academic and as an architect is in the changing tectonic relationship of site and structure in architecture, and in developing representational tools and strategies to understand and promote these complexities.

She has taught design at the University of Kansas and the University of New Mexico and also is co-founder of the practice Dual Ecologies, member of the American Institute of Architects, and the author of "Interpreting Site: Studies in Perception, Representation, and Design," featuring the work of architects such as Richard Meier, Dominique Perrault, Antoine Predock, Renzo Piano, Alvaro Siza, Daniel Libeskind, Dagmar Richter, James Corner and Stan Allen.

The TreanorHL Faculty Award is generously underwritten by the architecture, design and engineering firm. TreanorHL is a multidisciplinary firm with 10 offices throughout the United States with two of them in Kansas.