1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »K-State alumni assume leadership positions on board

K-State Today

June 20, 2012

K-State alumni assume leadership positions on board

Submitted by Lauren Porterfield

The leaders and membership of the K-State Alumni Association board of directors transitioned June 9 during the board’s annual meeting in Manhattan.

Dr. Kent Bradley, Valley Center, who was named chair-elect last year, assumed his leadership position as 2012-2013 chair at the annual meeting. A 1988 K-State graduate, Bradley is in private obstetrics and gynecology practice with Associates in Women’s Health P.A. in Newton, Kan. He succeeded Todd Johnson, Highlands Ranch, Colo., who now fills the immediate past chair position until next June. Johnson, a 1994 K-State graduate, is vice president of federation services for the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association.

Board members elected Aaron Otto, Roeland Park, as chair-elect. He will become the 2013-2014 chair next summer. A K-State graduate in 1998, Otto is the city administrator for the city of Roeland Park.

In a general election this spring, members of the alumni association approved a slate of five new members of the board of directors. These alumni also began their four-year terms at the board’s annual meeting and will continue to June 2016.

They are Alan Fankhauser ’82, Brookfield, Wis., project manager of consumer events marketing for Harley-Davidson in Milwaukee; Tina Glover ’80, ’85, Mission Viejo, Calif., business manager, chief financial officer and co-owner of Family Member Veterinary Hospital; Kristy Tredway Hawkins ’05, Towanda, marketing representative for Koch Industries in Wichita; Courtney Riley ’91, Hiawatha, office manager for Deb’s Images; and Allan Sicat ’03, Marietta, Ga., president of Carousel Designs in Douglasville, Ga.

Holly Roberts ’81, Colorado Springs, Colo., was appointed to fill a board member vacancy created by the resignation of board member Linda Cook ’77. Roberts is chief financial officer for the U.S. Space Foundation.

Additional board leadership includes Charles Claar, Jr. ’74, Garden City, treasurer; Amy Button Renz ’76, ’86, Manhattan, president and CEO of the Alumni Association and board secretary; Kirk H. Schulz, Manhattan, university president; and Fred Cholick, Manhattan, president and CEO, KSU Foundation. Two K-State students filling yearlong standing positions also assumed their seats on the board. They are Nate Spriggs, Riverton, student body president; and Rachel King, Wichita, Student Alumni Board president.

Outgoing members recognized for their service to the association’s board of directors were Michelle Elkins ’87, Manhattan; Barbara Johnson ’78, Abilene; Jim Johnson ’84, Colorado Springs, Colo.; Terry Matlack ’78, Shawnee Mission; and Mindy Highberger, Westphalia, immediate past president of the Student Alumni Board.                                

The K-State Alumni Association is dedicated to providing services and programs for more than 39,000 members. Alumni programs include reunions, student recruitment, pregame events, travel opportunities, student scholarships and other events for K-Staters across the country. For membership information, check the alumni association website at www.K-State.com or call 800-600-ALUM (2586) or 785-532-6260 in the Manhattan area.