1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Advancement in rank: Faculty earn promotions, tenure

K-State Today

April 30, 2012

Advancement in rank: Faculty earn promotions, tenure

Submitted by Communications and Marketing

Seventy Kansas State University faculty members are receiving promotions in rank, while 47 faculty members are earning tenure.

The promotions include 22 faculty members to the rank of full professor, one faculty member to the rank of clinical professor, 46 faculty members to the rank of associate professor, and one faculty member to the rank of clinical associate professor. The promotions and tenure go into effect at the start of the university's 2013 fiscal year on July 1.

Faculty members who have earned promotion to full professor are: Laura Brannon, psychology; Delores Chambers, human nutrition; Rollie Clem, biology; Anita Dille, agronomy; Gary Gadbury, statistics; Keith Gido, biology; Troy Harding, engineering technology, K-State Salina; Jun Li, chemistry; Steven Keeley, horticulture, forestry and recreation resources; Tod Kerstetter, music; Kimberly Kirkpatrick, psychology; Yoonseong Park, entomology; Donna Potts, English; K C Olson, animal sciences and industry; Walter Renberg, clinical sciences; Brett Sandercock, biology; Eric Shappee, aviation, K-State Salina; Jimmy Splichal, aviation, K-State Salina; Daniel Thomson, clinical sciences; Weiqun "George" Wang, human nutrition; Melinda Wilkerson, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology; and Kimberly With, biology. Laurie Beard, clinical sciences, has earned promotion to clinical professor.

Earning tenure and promotion to associate professor are: Christine Aikens, chemistry; Eduard Akhunov, plant pathology; Raylene Alexander, aviation, K-State Salina; Jennifer Anthony, chemical engineering; Chardie Baird, sociology, anthropology and social work; Joyce Baptist, family studies and human services; Regina Beard, faculty and graduate services, K-State Libraries; Jason Bergtold, agricultural economics; Ethan Bernick, political science; Vikas Berry, chemical engineering; Humberto Blanco, agronomy, Agricultural Research Center in Hays; Jamene Brooks-Kieffer, content development and acquisitions, K-State Libraries; Bradley Burenheide, curriculum and instruction; Aaron Carlstrom, special education, counseling and student affairs; Jianhan Chen, biochemistry; Doina Caragea, computing and information sciences; Xuanjuan "Jane" Chen, finance; Tara Coleman, Web services, K-State Libraries; Royce Ann Collins, educational leadership; Satoris Culbertson, psychology; Saugata Datta, geology; Maria DePaoli, modern languages; Hulya Dogan, grain science and industry; Peying Fong, anatomy and physiology; Ganga Hettiarachchi, agronomy; Derek Hoff, history; Johnathon Holman, agronomy, Southwest Research-Extension Center in Garden City; Ronette Gehring, clinical sciences; John Jaeger, animal sciences and industry, Agricultural Research Center in Hays; Justin Kastner, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology; Michael Krysko, history; Deon van der Merwe, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology; Theodore "Ted" Morgan, biology; Sam Mwangi, journalism and mass communications; Thu Annelise Nguyen, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology; Chihyung Ok, hospitality management and dietetics; Marcelo Ramalho-Ortigao, entomology; Xinming "Simon" Ou, computing and information sciences; Sunghun Park, horticulture, forestry and recreation resources; Jason Scuilla, art; Weixing Song, statistics; Tesfaye Tesso, agronomy; Glynn Tonsor, agricultural economics; Victor Turchin, mathematics; Praveen Vadlani, grain science and industry; and Han Yu, English.

Emily Klocke, clinical sciences, has earned promotion to clinical associate professor. Matthew Totten, associate professor of geology, has earned tenure.