1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Big 12 fellowship, K-State mentoring award recipients recognized

K-State Today

May 8, 2017

Big 12 fellowship, K-State mentoring award recipients recognized

Submitted by Division of Communications and Marketing

At the All-University Awards Ceremony on May 1, Kansas State University recognized the 2016-2017 recipients of two special faculty awards to give their scholarly activities a collaborative boost or to provide mentors and enhanced networking opportunities for their work.

The Big 12 Faculty Fellowship Award stimulates scholarly activity in teaching, research and service with colleagues at other Big 12 institutions. The program, open to tenure-track and tenured faculty, offers faculty the opportunity to participate in cross-mentoring among universities, develop working relationships and exchange ideas. This school year's recipients were Cydney Alexis, assistant professor of English and director of the Writer Center; Sally Davis, assistant professor of experimental pathology; Christy Moran Craft, associate professor of special education, counseling and student affairs; Stuart Heckman, assistant professor of personal financial planning; Dong Lin, assistant professor of industrial and manufacturing systems engineering; the team of Carla Martinez Machain, assistant professor, and Sam Bell, associate professor, both of political science; and Alissandra Stoyan, assistant professor of political sciences.

The K-State Mentoring Fellowship, established in 1995 with a grant from the Alfred E. Sloan Foundation, helps tenure-track faculty in the science and engineering fields find mentors and develop their research programs to a level to attract external funding. This year's recipients were Urara Hasegawa, assistant professor of chemical engineering; Mei He, assistant professor of biological and agricultural engineering; Kristin Malek, assistant professor of hospitality management; Jessica Meekins, assistant professor of ophthalmology; and Kathryn Reif, assistant professor of diagnostic medicine and pathobiology.