1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Blue Key awards scholarships to Kansas State University students

K-State Today

April 26, 2017

Blue Key awards scholarships to Kansas State University students

Submitted by Erin Woods

K-State's chapter of Blue Key, the senior honorary, has awarded scholarships to 21 students for the 2017-2018 academic year.

Blue Key Honor Society is a premier honor society that recognizes college students at senior institutions of higher education for balanced and all-around excellence in scholarship, leadership and service. The organization bases its eligibility for membership on all-around leadership in student life, high scholastic achievement, service to others and citizenship.

The university's chapter offers eight scholarships: Blue Key Study Abroad, Neal Atkinson Junior Leadership Award, Chester E. Peters Student Development Award, Bernard Franklin Opportunity Scholarship, Walter Martin Memorial Scholarship, Robert Lewis Sophomore Leadership Award, Roy C. Langford Memorial Scholarship and the Greg Hardin Memorial Scholarship. 

The following Kansas State University students are Blue Key scholarship recipients:

Kyler Langvardt, sophomore in agriculture communications and journalism, Chapman, Neal Atkinson Junior Leadership Award; and Alixandra Beezley, junior in marketing, Girard, Chester E. Peters Student Development Award.

From Greater Kansas City: Xena Moore, junior in biochemistry, Lenexa, Walter Martin Memorial Scholarship; Corben Tannahill, junior in management, Merriam, Chester E. Peters Student Development Award; Jassiel Terrazas, sophomore in architecture, Mission, Bernard Franklin Opportunity Scholarship; and Ryan Mersmann, sophomore in mechanical engineering, Olathe, Neal Atkinson Junior Leadership Award. 

Dean Klahr, junior in animal science and industry, Holton, Roy C. Langford Memorial Scholarship; Guadalupe Arreola, freshman in biological systems engineering, Lakin, Bernard Franklin Opportunity Scholarship; Andrew Holland, freshman in open option, Lansing, Robert Lewis Sophomore Leadership Award; Kelsi Briggs, senior in education-modern languages, Leavenworth, Blue Key Study Abroad; Frances Knackendoffel, sophomore in marketing, Manhattan, Neal Atkinson Junior Leadership Award; Devon Ronsse, senior in chemical engineering, Marquette, Greg Hardin Memorial Scholarship;  Miranda Moore, junior in communication studies, Pittsburg, Neal Atkinson Junior Leadership Award Katie Buhler, sophomore in elementary education, Pratt, Robert Lewis Sophomore Leadership Award; Jacob Rose, junior in engineering technology, Salina, Chester E. Peters Student Development Award; and Alexandria Bontrager, junior in microbiology, Whiting, The Neal Atkinson Junior Leadership Award. 

From out of state: Stephen Kirkwood, sophomore in marketing, Pingree Grove, Illinois, Neal Atkinson Junior Leadership Award; Alexis Cushshon, freshman in architectural engineering, Florissant, Missouri, Greg Hardin Memorial Scholarship; Ashley Anderson, senior in communication studies, Firth, Nebraska, Blue Key Study Abroad; and Ryan Dillon, senior in music education Plano, Texas, Walter Martin Memorial Scholarship. 

From out of country: Chioma S. Ibeh, sophomore in psychology, Nigeria, Roy C. Langford Memorial Scholarship

In this issue

From the administration
News and research
Kudos, publications and presentations