1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Hatcliff awarded engineering professorship

K-State Today

June 14, 2016

Hatcliff awarded engineering professorship

Submitted by Mary Rankin

John Hatcliff, professor of computer science, is the recipient of the Lucas-Rathbone Professorship in Engineering, established by Michele Munson, a 1996 graduate of Kansas State University in electrical engineering and physics, and her husband, Serban Simu, of Berkeley, California.

The professorship honors Michael SP Lucas, former electrical and computer engineering professor, and Donald R. Rathbone, former dean of the College of Engineering, as well as promotes the recruitment and retention of the highest quality faculty for the college.

Hatcliff is a university distinguished professor working in the areas of safety-critical systems, software architectures, and software verification and certification. He leads the Laboratory on Static Analysis and Transformation of Software, or SAnToS Lab, which has received more than $15 million in research funding since 2000 from the Department of Defense, National Science Foundation, Department of Homeland Security, NASA and National Institutes of Health, and companies including Lockheed, Rockwell Collins, Intel and IBM.

He has a bachelor's degree in computer science and mathematics from Mount Vernon Nazarene College, Mount Vernon, Ohio; a master's degree in computer science from Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada; and a doctorate in computer science from K-State.

Hatcliff is co-editor-in-chief of the International Journal of Software Tools for Technology Transfer, and co-chaired the National Security Agency High-Confidence Systems and Software Conference for 2014 and 2015. He co-chairs the Architecture Requirements Working Group of the Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation/Underwriters Laboratories 2800 Joint Committee that is developing safety standards for medical device interoperability. He has been an active member of the Medical Device Interoperability Safety Working Group that is currently interacting with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration on interoperability safety principles under the integrated clinical environment program.