1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Student receives national recognition as K-State Olmsted Scholar nominee

K-State Today

June 3, 2016

Student receives national recognition as K-State Olmsted Scholar nominee

Submitted by Courtney Boman

Beth Krehbiel, master's student in landscape architecture, was named the 2016 Kansas State University Olmsted Scholar by the Landscape Architecture Foundation. Krehbiel joins a growing community of nearly 400 past and present Olmsted Scholars. The prestige and publicity associated with the award serve to promote the significance of the landscape architecture profession and help attract inspired and motivated leaders.

Krehbiel holds a Bachelor of Arts in history and philosophy and religion from McPherson College, a liberal arts college in the Midwest. She recently completed internships with Fletemeyer & Lee Associates in Niwot, Colorado, and the Aggieville Business Association in Manhattan.

Drawing on her experience volunteering internationally and working cross-culturally, Krehbiel intends to pursue work that specifically engages memory and identity in communities. She hopes to gain greater insight into the role landscape architecture might bring to creative acts of conflict resolution. Krehbiel believes that the skills and sensitivities honed in the practice of landscape architecture have a place atoning for disconnects between people and the landscape through adapted ethnographic methods of inquiry, mapping and design in places of conflict.

Named for Frederick Law Olmsted, the father of American landscape architecture, the Olmsted Scholars Program is the premier national award program for landscape architecture students. Now in its eighth year, the program recognizes one outstanding student from each accredited landscape architecture program in the U.S. and Canada. Students are both honored for past achievements and recognized for their future potential to influence the landscape architecture profession.

Krehbiel will attend the Landscape Architecture Foundation annual benefit Oct. 21 to accept the award.