1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Transfer student group recognizes three honorary members for 2013-2014

K-State Today

May 14, 2014

Transfer student group recognizes three honorary members for 2013-2014

Submitted by Leah Hill

The Kansas State University Transfer Ambassador Program honored three special professors and staff April 30 for their dedication and commitment to transfer students.

Mike Finnegan, instructor and academic adviser for the School of Leadership Studies; Janie Sackrider, public service administrator for the undergraduate admissions office; and Julie Thornton, instructor for computing and information sciences, were invited to the club’s second spring banquet. Finnegan and Sackrider were presented with honorary memberships to the Transfer Ambassador Program. Leah Hill, the program's public relations chair, nominated Thornton and received the award on her behalf.

Transfer Ambassador Program members and advisers selected these individuals based on their involvement with transfer student recruitment, campus visits, understanding of transfer student needs and overall willingness to go above and beyond for transfer students.

Transfer coordinators Bill Disberger and Deana Core in undergraduate admissions advise the only student group at K-State dedicated to the needs of transfer students, who make up approximately 35 percent of new K-State students each year. All transfer students, including former Phi Theta Kappa members from two-year institutions, are invited to participate.