1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Target awards grant to Associated General Contractors student chapter

K-State Today

November 20, 2013

Target awards grant to Associated General Contractors student chapter

Submitted by Ray Buyle

Target has awarded the Associated General Contractors student chapter a $7,000 grant for community service projects.

Ray Buyle, assistant professor of architectural engineering and construction science, said the chapter places a high priority on service as a way to bring attention to the importance of community involvement and to develop future leaders. 

Buyle noted that one of the chapter goals is to have two to three service projects in the pipeline at any given time throughout the academic year. Already this fall, the chapter has assisted with the construction of a new Habitat for Humanity home in Ogden, performed historic restoration work on the native stone spring house at the Konza Prairie farmstead, assisted Lutheran Campus Ministries by installing an emergency egress window in the basement of its facility, and constructed the staging for the College of Engineering phase four groundbreaking ceremony. 

Buyle credits Chris Isern,  chapter president and senior in construction science, and Colton Easterberg, chapter vice president/service project coordinator and junior in construction science, as being instrumental in keeping service as a primary focus of the organization.

The grant is part of Target's ongoing effort to build strong, safe and healthy communities across the country. Since 1946, Target has given 5 percent of its profit through community grants and programs. Today that giving equals more than $4 million a week.

Laysha Ward, president of Target's community relations, said, "At Target, we are committed to serving local communities where we do business. That's why we are proud to partner with K-State's AGC student chapter as we work to strengthen communities and enrich the lives of our guests and team members."