1. K-State home
  2. »National Scholarships
  3. »Recent Scholars
  4. »2018 Scholars

Office of Nationally Competitive Scholarships

2018 Scholars

Thomas Meek, Gilman International Scholar Crystal Miller, Gilman International Scholar March 15: Two K-State students have received the Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship to study abroad in Summer 2018. Thomas Meek, sophomore in personal financial planning, will take Spanish language classes with the Universidad Nacional de Coasta Rica, in Heredia, Costa Rica. Crystal Miller, senior in family science and human development, will volunteer for humanitarian aid work and teach English classes in Bangalore, India. Read the full release here.    

Amber Berg, finalist for Truman Scholarship March 9: Amber Berg, a third-year student in the regional and community planning master’s program, is a finalist for the 2018 Harry S. Truman Scholarship. Berg is one of 194 students who have been selected as finalists. If awarded the scholarship, Berg would use the funds to support her final two years of the five-year nonbaccalaureate master's program in regional and community planning. Read the full release here.

photo of Vaithish Velazhahan February 21: Vaithish Velazhahan, senior in microbiology, medical biochemistry and pre-medicine, is receiving the 2018 Gates Cambridge Scholarship. Velazhahan is one of 35 U.S. students to receive the 2018 scholarship established by Bill and Melinda Gates. Velazhahan will study with the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, or LMB, at Cambridge where he will research the structure of key membrane proteins, called G protein-coupled receptors, that help cells communicate with an organism's environment. Read the full release here.

January 18: Two APDesign students, Andrew Young and Rachel Foss, received the Dwight D. Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship for 2018. Both students are studying regional and community planning. Read the full release here.