1. K-State home
  2. »National Scholarships
  3. »Recent Scholars
  4. »2015 Scholars

Office of Nationally Competitive Scholarships

2015 Scholars

Jordan Thomas November 24: Kansas State University anthropology student receives Marshall Scholarship to study food systems, social sustainability. Jordan Thomas, senior in Anthropology, has been awarded a highly competitive Marshall Scholarships to fund two years of graduate study in the United Kingdom beginning in Fall 2016.  Only 40 are granted annually.

Jessica Munoz October 30: Kansas State University graduate receives Rotary scholarship to research drama therapy for women with post-traumatic stress disorder. Jessica Munoz, August 2015 graduate in Theatre with an emphasis in Drama Therapy, has received a $30,000 Rotary Global Grant to study the effectiveness of group drama therapy for one year with displaced women in Colombia.

Hannah Rogers August 5: Hannah Rogers, Spring 2015 graduate in German, has been awarded a Fulbright U.S. Student Grant to work as an English Teaching Assistant in Germany for the 2015-16 academic year on the Baltic Island of Usedom.  Gut gemacht, Hannah! 

Marcus Dominguez July 7: Marcus Dominguez, senior in Sociology, has been awarded a Gilman Scholarship to study abroad in Costa Rica in Fall 2015.  The Gilman awards up to $5000 to support undergraduates who wish to study abroad and funds study in most countries around the globe. 

Reagan Kays July 2: Kansas State University May 2015 graduate receives Phi Kappa Phi fellowship to study agriculture, public policy law. Congratulations to Reagan Kays, May 2015 graduate in Pre-Law Agribusiness, on being named a Phi Kappa Phi Graduate Fellowship winner.  The award will contribute $5000 to support his first year of law school.  Reagan is the 26th K-State student in the last 30 years to be awarded a Phi Kappa Phi Graduate Fellowship.

Shai Washington May 22: Shai Washington, junior in Political Science with a secondary major in International Studies, has been named a Thomas R. Pickering Undergraduate Foreign Affairs Fellow for 2015.  Shai was one of only ten students selected nationally in the competition.  The Pickering supports outstanding students who hope to become U.S. Foreign Service Officers by providing two of funding as well as mentoring and internship opportunities.   

Jael Whitney May 12: The Fulbright Summer Institute, a partnership between the US and the United Kingdom, fully funds competitive summer programs in the UK at nine different sites.  Congratulations to Jael Whitney, freshman in Marketing, as a Summer 2015 recipient.  Jael will attend a five-week program in Scotland.   

Joel Blankenship May 5: David L. Boren Scholarship/Fellowship results have been announced for 2015, aand Joel Blankenship, sophomore in Political Science and History with a secondary major in International Studies, has been named as Boren Scholar for the coming year.  He will use the award, which encourages study in countries critical to the future security and stability of the nation, to study in Kyrgyzstan and develop his Russian language skills during the coming year.   

Josh Nelson Aaron Messerla April 21: Joshua Nelson, junior in Physics, has been named the 72nd Goldwater Scholar from K-State.  Aaron Messerla, junior in Mathematics, was also recognized as Honorable Mention in the competition.  The Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate award for students in engineering, math and science disciplines.  It awards up to $7,500 per year to rising juniors and seniors.  

Matthew Galliart Ryan Greenway April 17: Matthew Galliart (on the left), master's student in Biology has been awarded an NSF Graduate Fellowship for the upcoming year, which will fully fund three years of graduate study and research.  Ryan Greenway (on the right), also a master's student in Biology, was additionally recognized as Honorable Mention in the competition.  

Courtney Passow March 17: Courtney Passow, doctoral student in Biology, has been selected to attend the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings in Lindau, Germany in Summer 2105.  Courtney is one of only 672 young scientists selected to attend from across the globe in the areas of physics, physiology, medicine and chemistry.