1. K-State home
  2. »National Scholarships
  3. »Recent Scholars
  4. »2010 Scholars

Office of Nationally Competitive Scholarships

2010 Scholars

December 17: Congratulations to the three new Gilman Scholarship winners from K-State: Sophia Ford, Nathan Lippert and Juan Carlos Mendoza. Ford, junior in Geology and Political Science, will study in Reykjavik, Iceland. Lippert, senior in Construction Science, will study in Prague, Czech Republic. And Mendoza, senior in Hotel/Restaurant Management, will study in Hertfordshire, England. The Gilman awards up to $5000 for undergraduate study abroad.

April 15: Summer Lewis, recent alum in Sociology and Women's Studies, has been awarded a Rotary Peace Fellowship for 2011 and 2012. Rotary Peace Fellowships fully fund graduate degrees at several universities around the world that have been designated as Rotary Centers for International Studies in Peace and Conflict Resolution. Only about fifty fellowships are awarded internationally. Summer will attend the University of Queensland in Brisbane, Australia.

July 1: Jonathan Bostrom, junior is History and Anthropology, has been awarded a $5000 Gilman Scholarship to support undergraduate study abroad during Fall 2010. He will travel to China with the support of the Gilman program. Congratulations, Jonathan!

June 1: Four K-Staters have been awarded Fulbright U.S. Student Grants for 2010-11. Hyatt Frobose, graduate student in Animal Science; Kelsey Moran, May 2010 graduate in Political Science; Amanda Stueve, May 2010 graduate in Anthropology; and Molly Yochim, Dec. 2009 graduate in History will receive funding for an academic year abroad. They will study in Australia, Argentina, Morocco and Germany respectively. Fulbright winners can conduct research, pursue a graduate degree and/or work as an English teaching assistant in the host country.

April 23: Congratulations to Kelsey Moran, senior in Pre-Law Political Science with a secondary major in International Studies and minor in Spanish. She has been recognized as a Phi Kappa Phi Graduate Fellowship winner for 2010. PKP Fellows receive $5,000 for their first year of graduate or professional school. Kelsey was named the Kathleen Greey Fellow for 2010, which is given to a top ranking applicant whose major is outside the basic sciences. Kelsey will use the award to attend law school Each Phi Kappa Phi chapter is only allowed to nominate one student to compete nationally. Only 60 fellowships were awarded across the country this year.

April 8: Elizabeth Ploetz, senior in Chemistry, has been awarded a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship for 2010. The NSF Fellowship will fund up to three years of graduate study with an annual stipend of $30,000 plus payment of tuition and fees. Congratulations, Elizabeth!

March 31: Good news! Two K-Staters have been recognized as Goldwater Scholars for 2010-11. A third has been named Honorable Mention. Emily Tummons, junior in Biological Systems Engineering, and Shane Scott, sophomore in Physics and Mathematics, are Goldwater Scholars. Andrew Satterlee, junior in Chemical Engineering, earned Honorable Mention. The Goldwater, for students in math, science and engineering fields, provides up to $7500 per year for the last one or two years of undergraduate study. Less than 300 Goldwaters were awarded in 2010.

March 31: Amy Sents, senior in Animal Science & Industry, has been named as one of sixty Truman Scholars nationally for 2010. The prestigious Truman Scholarship awards up to $30,000 for graduate study in fields leading to careers in public service. After graduation, Amy will pursue degrees in Veterinary Medicine and Public Health. Congratulations, Amy, on your success!