1. K-State home
  2. »Graduate School
  3. »Faculty and staff
  4. »Ervin W. Segebrecht Honorium Eligibility, Nomination, Application and Selection Processes

Graduate School

Ervin W. Segebrecht Honorarium 

The Segebrecht Award was established in 1985 by Ervin W. and Margaret Segebrecht and their children to recognize “those professors at Kansas State who provided inspiration and excellence in teaching” for Mr. Segebrecht, a 1938 graduate of KSU. Eligibility for the award is restricted to professors in the Departments of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, and candidates are to be judged on the basis of “excellence in classroom instruction and research and published manuscripts in technical publications."


This award will be made on an annual basis to professors in Chemical Engineering and in the Department of Chemistry.  Candidates for the award shall be judged by excellence in classroom instruction and research and published manuscripts in technical publications.  This award is renewable; however said recipient shall not be eligible for this award again until three years after the date of selection.

Nomination Process

The Dean of the Graduate School will send a Call for Nominations for the Ervin W. Segebrecht Honorium to the department heads in Chemistry and Chemical Engineering on or before January 15, 2019 to distribute to their faculty.  The Call for Nomination will include eligibility, nomination process, and application materials to be submitted to the Graduate School. Faculty members can nominate one or more of their peers who meet the eligibility criteria for the award.  The nomination letter should include the following:  name and rank of nominee, contact information, and a maximum of a half page statement of how nominee meets eligibility criteria and is worthy of the recognition.  The deadline for submitting nominations is February 1, 2019.

Application Process

The Dean of the Graduate School will notify each faculty of their nomination on the same day and will request the faculty to submit the nomination materials to the Graduate School by February 23, 2019.

The faculty nominee will submit the following materials to the Graduate School: a summary of accomplishments in teaching, research, and service; curriculum vitae, and TEVALs for the past two years. The summary should not exceed two pages double spaced with one inch margins. 

Selection Committee

Two faculty members from the Department of Chemistry and two faculty members from the Department of Chemical Engineering, who are appointed by their respective department heads. The Graduate Dean will act as the Committee Chair and shall have full voting privileges. 

Previous recipients of the Segebrecht Award include:

2019 Takashi Ito, Chemistry

2018 Jun Li, Chemistry
2017 Stefan Bossmann, Chemistry
2017 John Schulp, Chemical Engineering
2014 Christine Aikens
2012 Keith Hohn
2007 Paul E. Smith
2006 Christopher T. Culbertson
2005 James Edgar
2004 Daniel A. Higgins
2003 Christer B. Aakeröy
2002 L. T. Fan
2001 J. Vincent Ortiz
2000 Duy H. Hua
1999 M. Dale Hawley
1998 Walter P. Walawender
1997 Larry Glasgow
1996 Keith R. Buszek
1995 Donald W. Setser
1994 Richard G. Akins
1993 James L. Copeland
1992 Kenneth J. Klabunde
1991 Benjamin G. Kyle
1990 Eric A. Maatta
1989 John C. Mathews
1988 Clifton E. Meloan
1987 Herbert C. Moser

Nomination deadline

February 1, 2019

Application materials submitted

February 23, 2019