Ervin W. Segebrecht Honorarium

The Segebrecht Award was established in 1985 by Ervin W. and Margaret Segebrecht and their children to recognize “those professors at Kansas State who provided inspiration and excellence in teaching” for Mr. Segebrecht, a 1938 graduate of KSU. Eligibility for the award is restricted to professors in the Departments of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, and candidates are to be judged on the basis of “excellence in classroom instruction and research and published manuscripts in technical publications."


This award will be made on an annual basis to professors in Chemical Engineering and in the Department of Chemistry. Candidates for the award shall be judged by excellence in classroom instruction and research and published manuscripts in technical publications. This award is renewable; however said recipient shall not be eligible for this award again until three years after the date of selection.

Nomination Process

Nominations are not currenlty being accepted.

The Dean of the Graduate School will send a Call for Nominations for the Ervin W. Segebrecht Honorium to the department heads in Chemistry and Chemical Engineering to distribute to their faculty. The Call for Nomination will include eligibility, nomination process, and application materials to be submitted to the Graduate School. Faculty members can nominate one or more of their peers who meet the eligibility criteria for the award.

The nomination letter should include the following

  • name and rank of nominee
  • contact information
  • a statement of how nominee meets eligibility criteria and is worthy of the recognition (a maximum of a half page)

Application from nominees

The Dean of the Graduate School will notify each faculty of their nomination on the same day and will request the faculty to submit the following application materials to the Graduate School:

  • a summary of accomplishments in teaching, research, and service
  • curriculum vitae
  • TEVALs for the past two years.

The summary should not exceed two pages double-spaced with one inch margins.

Selection Committee

Two faculty members from the Department of Chemistry and two faculty members from the Department of Chemical Engineering, who are appointed by their respective department heads. The Graduate Dean will act as the Committee Chair and shall have full voting privileges.