1. K-State home
  2. »Arts and Sciences
  3. »Economics
  4. »Scholarships

Department of Economics

Department of EconomicsDepartment of EconomicsDepartment of Economics

Link to home page

Economics Department
Kansas State University
327 Waters Hall
1603 Old Claflin Place
Manhattan, KS 66506
785-532-6919 fax




The Department of Economics is committed to helping our students pay for college through both need-based and merit-based scholarships. Scholarships are available to first-year, transfer and returning students. 

Fill our the All-University AND Economics specific scholarships through AcademicWorks by February 1 every year. 

Need some help?

Tutorial for students who have never logged into AcademicWorks.

Tutorial for students who completed the All-University scholarship already. 

Tutorial for the Dream Big Scholarship.


If you have questions about the Economics scholarship process, please email Daniel Kuester or Joy Chen.

New Economics Scholarships

The department now has nearly thirty-five undergraduate scholarships to offer, and more are on the way! It is all part of our ambitious goal to provide more financial support for economics majors. In 2011 we had the inaugural meeting of the Department to Economics Advisory Council. The group quickly identified financial support for students as a priority. They set a goal of increasing the number of scholarships offered by the department from four to thirty-five. Obviously, we have nearly reached our goal.  However, as we reach our goal we are hoping to reward our students with as generous of awards as possible.

How does a department fund twenty five new scholarships in such a short time? How does it reach its goal of 35? Our plan is simple.

  • Start with a dedicated advisory council with the vision to articulate a goal and the ambition to achieve it.   
  • Have excellent students deserving of support.  Fortunately, we have these in abundance.  
  • Set the scholarship drive in the context of bigger goals. Our scholarship goal is an important piece in an overall plan for moving the department forward. You may have heard (a lot!) about K-State 2025 at the university level. In short, K-State is on the move. Our department will use this momentum to help achieve its own 2025 goals. You can read about these goals here.
  • Have generous donors who believe in the cause. We all know that K-State pride runs deep. Our scholarship team has seen this time and again. A real delight of working on this scholarship drive has been finding out how deeply alumni and friends of the department believe in higher education. They want to keep college accessible as tuition costs rise, reward excellence, and attract students to the field of economics. They want to keep the K-State Department of Economics strong and see it improve.

So we are on our way, but with a big challenge still ahead. Would you like to help? You can contact me at gaylep@k-state.edu to learn more or contribute at the link on this page. I hope you will check back to this webpage in the future to see our progress. Below you can read about the scholarships awarded last year. Several others will make their debut at our spring banquet.

2019 Scholarships



Dr. Krishna Akkina Economics Scholarship

Martin Duran**

Kevin Roy Armstrong Memorial Scholarship

Agustina Otazu Seifart**

Duane L. and Leslee K. Cantrell Scholarship in Economics

Tom McClain**

Michael and Geraldine Carlisle Scholarship in Economics

Karsen Adams*

Dream Big Economics Scholarship (1)

Levi Van Hoecke

Dream Big Economics Scholarship (2)

Cameron Edens**

John A. Delehanty Memorial Scholarship Award

Brian C. Brungardt

Edward Jones Economics Scholarship

Scott Schwerdtfeger*

Frederick and Connie Erickson Scholarship (1)

Brock O’Brien**

Frederick and Connie Erickson Scholarship (2)

Kade Grafel*

Frederick and Connie Erickson Scholarship (3)

Lucas Goldberg Da Rosa*

Frederick and Connie Erickson Scholarship (4)

Maggie Roth*

Michael J. Greenwood Economics Scholarship

James Myose

Craig Edwin Haymaker Family Economics Scholarship

Kristopher Hatfield**

Todd Ryan Haymaker Family Economics Scholarship

William Moore*

Ross Alan Haymaker Family Economics Scholarship

Andrew Davis*

Bradley James Haymaker Family Economics Scholarship

Faith Horton

James and Kathryn Haymaker Family Economics Scholarship

Bryce Niermeier

Hicks Economics Scholarship

Grace Hutchinson

Douglas E. and Victoria D. Hill Economics Scholarship

Eli Pruss*

David and Sharon Jordening Economics Scholarship (1)

Tristan Korff

David and Sharon Jordening Economics Scholarship (2)

Derek Ecklund*

Randy D. Sims Family Economics Scholarship

Luke Hesse*

Mary Lynn Staley Economics Scholarship (1)

Annaleigh Hobbs

Mary Lynn Staley Economics Scholarship (2)

David Browne*

Mary Lynn Staley Economics Scholarship (3)

Parker Dyro

Lloyd and Sally Thomas Scholarship in Economics

Chico F. Clark Jr.

Tiao Family Scholarship in Economics

Mike Yang

Professors Bagley and Cohen Scholarship in Economics

Hayden Schmidt

Department of Economics Scholarship

Paul Feighner**

*Returning scholarship recipient
**Returning scholarship recipient but new scholarship

Support Us

Click here and set your designation to "Economics" to support the department online.