Ibn Battuta Award

The Ibn Battuta Award is given by the Anthropology Program at Kansas State University to the anthropology major submitting the best anthropological research paper for the academic year. The paper may be built from a paper submitted for a class, but should be further developed and more substantial.  Winning papers are usually about 15 pages long (up to about 30 pages), and very thoroughly researched.  The award consists of a cash prize and book describing the adventures and discoveries of Ibn Battuta, a 14th century Muslim traveler, as well as recognition of quality research and writing. The awardee will be recognized at the annual departmental awards ceremony in April. The paper can deal with any anthropological topic. Coauthored papers are not allowed. 

Martin Ottenheimer Award for Adventurous Anthropology

Anthropologist Martin Ottenheimer (PhD Tulane U 1971), now professor emeritus at Kansas State, is internationally known for his ethnographic research in East Africa, especially the Comoro Islands, as well as major publications on kinship and cousin marriage. He was a Department Head at K-State (1987-1993), was elected President of the Central States Anthropological Society (1994-1995), and served on the Executive Board of the American Anthropological Association. He has lectured in Africa, Europe, and Australia, and his visiting academic positions include Ludwig-Maximilian University, Munich, Germany (1990), and a Fulbright Scholar at Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic (2004-2005). A world traveler and a champion sailor, Dr. Ottenheimer also serves as a Senior Judge, US Sailing Association.

This student award has been established in recognition of the adventurous spirit that guides Dr. Ottenheimer and many fellow anthropologists in their quest for knowledge about peoples and cultures all across the world. Eligible for this award ($300) are undergraduate students majoring in anthropology, who have at least one more semester left of their undergraduate program at the time of application.  To be seriously considered, they must have a good academic record (minimum GPA 3.5), and a specific planned project that demonstrates their adventurous spirit as a budding anthropologist. Each contender will send a 1-page curriculum vitae and a roughly 2-page project proposal (including details about how the funding will be spent) by March 27th to Dr. Falcone ( The winner will be committed to make a presentation for the Anthropology Club before their graduation (within the following year).

Harriet and Martin Ottenheimer Central States Anthropological Society Award

The recipient(s) of this award will be a student(s) properly enrolled in the Dept of SASW, majoring in anthropology who has been notified that this/her paper has been accepted for presentation at the annual Central States Anthropological Society (CSAS) conference.  Applicants are expected to present at the annual Sapiens Symposium before the Central States conference. The award shall reimburse the selected student for up to $500 in travel expenses to attend the annual CSAS conference and present his/her paper.

National and International Awards

Our students have had great success receiving major national and international awards and scholarships.  Visit with your adviser if you are interested in pursuing any of these prestigious awards to support your future research and scholarship.


Fellowships for U.S. graduating seniors, graduate students, young professionals and artists to study abroad for one academic year.

Amanda Stueve 2010
Lucas Bessire 2001
Lisa Mertz 1993
Carol Leonard 1970

National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship

Fellows receive three years of support with a $30,000 annual stipend plus a $10,500 cost-of-education allowance, a $1,000 one time international travel allowance and access to the TeraGrid supercomputer.

Laura Bathurst 1997
Michael Wesch 1998
Amber Campbell 2005

Other Anthropology Award Winners
Rotary Ambassadorial ScholarshipRyan Klataske2007
Jacob K. Javits FellowshipMichael Wesch1998
MellonLaura Bathurst1997
Phi Kappa PhiJohn Hawks1994
RhodesRoger D. Sorrell1974