1. K-State home
  2. »Master of Public Health
  3. »News
  4. »2013

Master of Public Health Program

News - 2013

February 2013:  MPH Program Update

April 2013:  MPH Program Scholarship and Travel Award Recipients.  The following MPH students have been awarded a merit scholarship by the MPH Program Awards Committee: Ashley Bredenberg, Kimathi Choma, Allison Crow, Lauren England, Lindsay Gehring, Jami Grace, Amy Sents, Cole Wenzel, and Kristina Wert.  Also, an MPH Field Experience Travel Award has been awarded to Amy Sents for her field experience this summer.  Congratulations to all!!

April 2013: Progress toward accreditation by Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH).  On April 18, 2013, the MPH Program Office submitted the final draft of the preliminary accreditation self-study document to the K-State Provost for her approval.  After her review, we plan to send the document to the CEPH reviewers in early to mid-May.  Our CEPH site-visit is already scheduled for October 27-29, 2013.  The final draft of our self-study document, as sent to the provost, may be seen here:  Final Draft of MPH Self-Study Document

May 7, 2013:  After final review by the provost, the preliminary self-study document was submitted to the reviewers for the Council on Education for Public Health.  Final version of K-State's self-study document

May 2013:  Graduates.  New MPH graduates include Ahsha Abu-Ali, Michael Banfield, Abby Banks, Cristina Bonnelly, Dr. Jason Bradley, Dr. Kimathi Choma, Sara Coleman, Allison Crow, Dr. Lauren England, Jing Han, Bethany Paige Johnson, Joey Lightner, Clara Marshall, Dr. Zacharia Modi, Kealan Schroeder, Ryan Szatkowski, bringing the total number of MPH degrees awarded at K-State to 91.  Graduate Certificate recipients include Dr. Marai Alhaadi, Brandon Green, and Dr. Dawn Hull, bringing the total number of certificate recipients to 17.

July 2013:  Dr. Svetlana Cotelea, a 2011 MPH graduate of Kansas State University, has been named Deputy Minister of Health for the Republic of Moldova. She was a Muskie Fellow and earned her MPH degree with an emphasis in Public Health Nutrition.

July 2013:  Request for comments to CEPH.  As part of the MPH program's accreditation process, the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) reviewers of our preliminary self-study report have agreed that the draft report should serve as an adequate basis for conducting an accreditation site visit by CEPH.  That site visit will be October 28-29, 2013.  The program alerted constituents that they may send written comments to CEPH about our program any time before September 27, 2013.

August 2013:  Graduates.  New MPH graduates include Jacob Davenport, Mychal Davis, Gonzalo Erdozain, Gabriel Kenne, Yang Liu, Arlerta Ndlela, Michaela Schenkelberg, and Aundrea Shafer, bringing the total number of MPH degrees awarded at K-State to 99.  The number of graduates for Academic Year 2013 was 31, the most for any academic year since the start of this program. Also, Hayley Collins earned the Graduate Certificate in Public Health Core Concepts, bringing the total number of certificate recipients to 18.

October 2013: MPH Program Update Fall 2013

October 2013:  Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) Accreditation Site Visit.  The accreditation site team members visited Kansas State University October 27-29, 2013, to assess our MPH Program for CEPH accreditation.  They met with many different groups of administrators, faculty, students, and local public health colleagues.  

December 2013:  Graduates.  New MPH graduates include Ashley Bredenberg, Dr. Jami Grace, Janet Guvelle, Sheila McCullough-Culver, Ben McKenna, Joshua O'Neal, Amy Sents, and Iris Smithey, bringing the total number of MPH degrees awarded at K-State to 107.  Graduate Certificate recipients include Dr. Chris Lewis and Jason Orr, bringing the total number of certificate recipients to 20.