1. K-State home
  2. »Master of Public Health
  3. »News
  4. »2009

Master of Public Health Program

News - 2009

12 January 2009: New MPH Program Director. Today was Dr. Mike Cates’ first day on the job as the new program director. His office is on campus at 1 Trotter Hall. Find out more about his experience athttp://www.vet.ksu.edu/depts/dmp/personnel/faculty/cates.htm

23 February 2009: Excellence in Public Health at K-State. Dr. Cates announced that the first “Excellence in Public Health at K-State” awards would be given at an Awards/Recognition Reception during National Public Health Week 6-10 April. Nominations should be made to the MPH Program office before 12 March 2009.

12 March 2009: Accreditation Process – KBOR Approval. The Kansas Board of Regents approved the request from Kansas State University to pursue accreditation of the K-State MPH Program by the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH). The next step is get approval by CEPH, at their meeting in July, to start the 2-3 year accreditation process.
CEPH Accreditation

7 April 2009: Excellence in Public Health at K-State Reception, Alumni Center. Over 50 distinguished guests, faculty, students and friends of public health gathered in the Purple Pride Room to celebrate National Public Health Week and the success of the public health programs at Kansas State. Dr. Cates, the MPH Program Director, gave a brief update of the MPH Program and presented awards to four individuals for their contributions to the program and their accomplishments in public health: Dr. Carol Ann Holcomb (faculty), Ms. Ginny Barnard (graduate), Ms. Mindi Russell (graduate), and Dr. Ethel Taylor (student). The group enjoyed remarks from all the honorees as well as the presentation by Ms. Russell about her experiences at NC State Department of Health and at the Food and Drug Administration. (Pictures and more information.) (Dr. Cates' presentation)

14 April 2009: News release from K-State Media Relations. “K-State’s Master of Public Health Program Recognizes Outstanding Participants.

24 April 2009: Press release from American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA). “Dr. Michael B. Cates takes leadership role on AVMA’s One Health Joint Steering Committee.

15 May 2009: Drs. Joan Talbott and Dr. Ethel Taylor are the newest graduates of our program, receiving their MPH degrees after the Spring 2009 Semester. Joan is a veterinarian in Nevada and Ethel has been chosen for the Epidemic Intelligence Service at the Centers for Disease Prevention and Control in Atlanta. Congratulations Joan and Ethel!

19 May 2009: Dean Ralph Richardson announced the establishment of the James B. Nichols Professorship in Public Health, initially to be held by the current Director of the Master of Public Health Program. Dr. Nichols was a K-State DVM Class of 1934 and spent over 40 years in veterinary public health, in a combination of military, academic and state government positions. Details of Dr. Nichols’ visionary gift for public health at K-State can be viewed in the Spring 2009 edition of Healing Hands: http://www.vet.k-state.edu/depts/development/healinghands/pdf/HH.Spring.2009.pdf

10 July 2009: At their semiannual meeting in June, the Council of Education for Public Health (CEPH) formally approved Kansas State University's request to begin the accreditation process for our Master of Public Health Program.

14 August 2009: Dr. Casey Hackett and Mr. Zach McGill finished their degree requirements, receiving their MPH degrees after the Summer 2009 Semester. That brings our total to 28 graduates from our program. Congratulations Casey and Zach!

28 August 2009: The MPH Program hosted an Orientation Pizza Party for the new and returning students, at Trotter Hall. View the PowerPoint pdf used by Dr. Cates, “2010 MPH Orientation.” (Pictures of MPH students.)

15 September 2009: Press release related to Dr. Cates and the One Health Commission.

14 October 2009: Dr. Mike Cates presented an MPH Program update to the Dr. Niehoff (from the Provost’s Office) and the Deans (or their representatives) from the Graduate School and our four supporting colleges—Agriculture, Arts & Sciences, Human Ecology and Veterinary Medicine. View the presentation “MPH Program Update to Deans.”

December 2009:  New MPH Graduates include Joan Buchholz, Kiran Dhakal, Valerie Stull, and Jennifer Akers.

Back to current news