Department seminar schedule

Spring 2015

All seminars will be held in Waters 329 from 3:45 to 5:00 PM unless otherwise specified 

Tuesday, January 20: Jin (Jane) Wang, University of Southern California, "Do Birds of A Feather Flock Together? Platform’s Quality Screening and End-Users’ Choices Theory and Empirical Study of Online Trading Platforms."

Thursday, January 22: Tate Twinam, University of Pittsburgh, "Danger zone: The Causal Effects of High-Density and Mixed-Use Development on Neighborhood Crime."

Friday, January 23: Pedro Sant'AnnaUniversidad Carlos III de Madrid, "Nonparametric Tests for Conditional Treatment Effects with Duration Outcomes."

Monday, January 26: Mariyana Zapryanova, University of Wisconsin - Madison, "The Effects of Time in Prison and Time on Parole on Recidivism."

Tuesday, January 27: Li (Lily) Zhao, Vanderbilt University, "Equilibrium Selection in Discrete Games of Complete Information: An Application to the Home Improvement Industry."

Wednesday, January 28: Deniz Ozabaci, University of Connecticut, "Additive Nonparametric Sample Selection Models with Endogeneity."

Thursday, January 29: Chao Ma, Ohio State University, "Estimating a Dynamic Discrete Choice Model with Partial Observability for Household Mortgage Default and Prepayment Behaviors."

Friday, January 30: Jeff Traczynski, University of Hawaii at Manoa, "Personal Bankruptcy, Asset Risk, and Entrepreneurship: Evidence from Tenancy by the Entirety Laws."

Monday, February 2: Youngki Shin, University of Western Ontario, "Understanding Earnings Dynamics: Identifying and Estimating the Changing Roles of Unobserved Ability, Permanent and Transitory Shocks."

 


 

Fall 2014

All seminars will be held in Waters 329 from 3:45 to 5:00 PM unless otherwise specified 

Friday, September 12 in room Waters 328: Michael Kaganovich, Indiana University. Title:"Returns to Academic Standards and the Selectivity of Colleges."

Thursday, September 18 at 11:00am-12:15pm: Michael Plante, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas. Title: "The Zero Lower Bound and Endogenous Uncertainty."

Friday, October 10: Teresa D. Harrison, Drexel University. Title "Nonprofit Tax Exemptions and Market Structure: The Case of Fitness Centers."

Friday, October 17: James Lake, Southern Methodist University. Title "Are Global Trade Negotiations Behind a Fragmented World of 'Gated Globalization'?"

Friday, October 31: Zongwu Cai, University of Kansas. Title "Estimating the Growth Effect of FDI Using a Quantile Panel Data Model with Partially Varying Coefficients."

Tuesday, December 2: Andy Brownback, UCSD (PhD candidate). Title: "Effort Allocation and Relative Grading"