1. K-State home
  2. »Wildcat Wind Power
  3. »competitions
  4. »2018

Wildcat Wind Power


2018 Competition

3rd Place OVERALL
Collegiate Wind Competition
US Department of Energy
Chicago, IL

2018 team

The wind turbine mechanical design team consisted of Joel Pegg, Jacob McAfee, Jackson Jennings, Giselle Guanes-Melgarejo, and Matt Bryan, all seniors in mechanical and nuclear engineering. The electrical design team consisted of Tyler Kodanaz and Will Brownlee, sophomore and senior in electrical and computer engineering (ECE), respectively. The bulk of the team’s funding comes from a $20K Department of Energy grant for which Ruth Douglas Miller, of professor emeritus of ECE, and Warren N. White, associate professor of MNE, serve as co-principle investigators on the grant. Drs. Miller and White serve as the team advisers. Supporting funds were also provided by the KSU College of Engineering, MNE, and ECE. The mechanical design team was advised by David Pacey, professor of MNE.