1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today Student Edition
  4. »Union Corporation Board selects 2012-2013 officers

K-State Today Student Edition

May 8, 2012

Union Corporation Board selects 2012-2013 officers

Submitted by Audrey Taggart-Kagdis

The new K-State Student Union Corporation Board officers have been selected for the 2012-2013 school year.

The officers are Sara Brady, senior in modern languages and marketing, president; Ellen Bergkamp, junior in agricultural economics, vice president; and Emilie Patterson, senior in food science and industry, secretary.

The Union Corporation Board's eight members direct, advise and vote on matters of business for the K-State Union Corporation. The board votes on and approves annual budgets, long-term agreements and contracts. It also oversees long-term fiscal goals and policies for the Union Corporation and the K-State Student Union.

Members of the board include three K-State students elected by the Union Governing Board, the president of the university, the vice president for student life, the vice president for administration and finance, a K-State faculty member, and the director of the Union as a nonvoting member.

The three student positions are elected by the student body during the Student Governing Association general election in March, and then are selected to serve on the Corporation Board by the Union Governing Board. Voting members of the board elect the president, vice president and secretary.