1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today Student Edition
  4. »Ready to serve: University ROTC units conduct commissioning ceremonies

K-State Today Student Edition

May 4, 2012

Ready to serve: University ROTC units conduct commissioning ceremonies

Submitted by Communications and Marketing

The U.S. military is gaining 32 new officers from Kansas State University. Commissioning ceremonies for the university's Army and Air Force ROTC units will be Friday, May 11, at the K-State Student Union.

Commissioning of Army ROTC cadets will be 10 a.m. to noon in Forum Hall. Speaker for the event will be Brig. Gen. Donald M. MacWillie, senior commander of Fort Riley and deputy commanding general of the 1st Infantry Division.

The Air Force ROTC ceremony will be 2-3 p.m., also in Forum Hall. Guest speaker will be retired U.S. Air Force Gen. Richard Myers, a 1965 K-State Air Force ROTC alum and a former chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. The university's Gen. Richard B. Myers Hall, home to both the Army and Air Force ROTC programs, is named in his honor.

Army and Air Force ROTC cadets, all graduating seniors, earning their commissions, their hometowns and service assignments include:

Alexander Simon, Andover, Army Ordinance branch; Jesse Fitzpatrick, Atchison, combat systems officer trainee, Naval Air Station, Pensacola, Fla.; Drew Sumner, Clay Center, pilot trainee, Vance Air Force Base in Oklahoma; Daniel Mahoney, Army Military Police branch, and Joseph Nesley, Army Armor branch, both from Derby; Joshua Harrison, Fort Leavenworth, Army Reserve Military Police branch; Matthew Hickins, Fort Riley, Army Reserve Transportation branch.

From Greater Kansas City: Kathryn Blair, Kansas City, Mo., air battle manager trainee, Tyndall Air Force Base in Florida; Michael Bryant, Olathe, Army National Guard Engineer Corps; Russell Hinds, Overland Park, Army Military Intelligence branch; and Christopher Swain, Shawnee, remotely piloted aircraft pilot trainee, Randolph Air Force Base in Texas.

Ashton Lackey, Highland, pilot trainee, Sheppard Air Force Base in Texas.

From Leavenworth: Ryan Easterling, Army Military Intelligence branch; Garrett Jennings, Army Aviation branch; and John Swanson, Army Infantry branch.

Joshua Oelschlaeger, Linwood, Army's Infantry branch; Otto Beiber, Army National Guard Field Artillery branch, and Benjamin Brabec, civil engineer, Nellis Air Force Base in Nevada, both from Manhattan; Joseph Correia, Mulvane, civil engineer, Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam in Hawaii; Justin Rhoades, Newton, financial management officer, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base in Ohio; Nathan Reynolds, Salina, Army Aviation branch; and Alexander Melius, Wakefield, Army Reserve Transportation branch.

From out of state:

Adam Rezner, Orange, Calif., Army Military Intelligence branch; Christopher Coker, Wahiawa, Hawaii, Army Infantry branch; Eric Johnson, Caldwell, Idaho, Army National Guard Field Artillery branch; Jackson Dick, Council Bluffs, Iowa, Army Infantry branch; Levi Van Pelt, Austin, Minn., Army Aviation branch; Jennifer Keefe, Liberty, Mo., Army Reserve Medical Services branch; Cheryl Cleary, Port Jervis, N.Y., Army National Guard Medical Services branch; Christopher Ordner, Corpus Christi, Texas, Army Signal branch; John Allred, Bountiful, Utah, Army Military Intelligence branch; and Jacob Flynn, West Bend, Wis., Army Military Police branch.