1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »College of Architecture, Planning & Design prepares to attend national conference,...

K-State Today

November 14, 2013

College of Architecture, Planning & Design prepares to attend national conference, receive honors

Submitted by Thom Jackson

Faculty from the College of Architecture, Planning & Design are preparing to join more than 6,000 landscape architecture professionals and students from across the U.S. and around the world at the American Society of Landscape Architects, or ASLA, Conference in Boston. The annual meeting and expo will be Nov. 15-18 and consists of education and field sessions, workshops, receptions and an American Society of Landscape Architects college alumni tailgate.

Attendees from Kansas State University will include Tim de Noble, dean; Stephanie Rolley, landscape architecture/regional and community planning department head; Damon Fairchild, director of development; Chip Winslow, professor; and Alpa Nawre and Jessica Canfield, assistant professors, as well as students.

“Attending ASLA is a wonderful networking opportunity,” Canfield said. "You never know who you might bump into at the ASLA bookstore table or during a field session. I enjoy the diversity of attendees, from students to mid-career practitioners, from new graduates to well distinguished professionals. The event always triggers a great sense of energy and excitement.” 

Canfield and Rolley will not only attend the conference, but will be actively participating as well. Canfield will present initial findings from a collaborative quality assessment of the Landscape Performance Series Case Studies to the Landscape Architecture Foundation Research Committee, and Rolley will be joining the Landscape Architecture Foundation board of directors.

At the conference, K-State will be recognized with two honors. The first being the Design Honor Award for student collaboration that will go to Derek Hoetmer, Valley Center; Kylie Harper, Hutchinson; and Kevin Cunningham, Denver, Colo.; along with Lauren Brown, University of Kansas, and Tyler Knott, University of Missouri, Kansas City for their work on The Armory: Resilient Minneapolis by Design.

The second honor will be presented to Lauren Ewald, Overland Park, as the Kansas State University 2013 Olmsted Scholar. The Olmsted Scholars program recognizes and supports students with exceptional leadership potential who are using ideas, influence, communication, service, and leadership to advance sustainable design and foster human and societal benefits.

Along with current students and faculty being recognized, two K-State alumni Jim Schuessler, 1996 Bachelor of Landscape architecture graduate, and H. Duane Blossom, 1965 Bachelor of Landscape Architecture graduate, will be inducted as Alumni Class fellows, the highest honor the society bestows on members.

In this issue

From the administration
News and research
Human resources, benefits and training
Kudos, publications and presentations
Publications and presentations
Campus construction and maintenance
Volunteer opportunities