1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Mike Apley named interim head of anatomy and physiology

K-State Today

May 17, 2024

Mike Apley named interim head of anatomy and physiology

Submitted by Joe Montgomery

Mike Apley

The College of Veterinary Medicine has appointed Mike Apley to serve as interim head of its department of anatomy and physiology. He takes over duties for Hans Coetzee, associate dean of research and graduate programs, who served as department head since 2016.

As the E.J. Frick Professor in Veterinary Medicine, Apley currently teaches pharmacology and food animal courses and coordinates the advanced feedlot production medicine course.

"Dr. Apley immediately agreed to take on this role to serve the department in which he began his academic career," said Bonnie Rush, Hodes family dean. "I am grateful for his willingness to accept this administrative responsibility. He will remain in the interim position until a permanent department head is identified."

Apley received a bachelor's degree in 1981, a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine in 1987 and a doctorate in clinical pharmacology in 1992, all from K-State. He is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Clinical Pharmacology.

Apley started his career in veterinary medicine with a general practice in central Kansas, then moved to a feedlot consulting/contact research practice in Colorado. Before becoming a professor at K-State in 2005, he was a faculty member at Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine. His research efforts include food animal therapeutics, pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of veterinary drugs, and antimicrobial resistance.

Apley is a member of several professional organizations, including the American Association of Bovine Practitioners, where he served as president from 2017-2018, the Academy of Veterinary Consultants, where he served as president from 2004-2005, and the American College of Veterinary Pharmacology, of which he served as president from 2007-2009. He served on the Presidential Advisory Council on Combating Antibiotic-Resistant Bacteria from 2015 to 2023, including a term as its vice chair.