1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Agricultural economics faculty receives USDA and APLU national teaching award

K-State Today

November 17, 2023

Agricultural economics faculty receives USDA and APLU national teaching award

Submitted by Jerry Grasso

From left: Zelia Wiley, Logan Britton and Dan Moser. Britton was named an early career award winner by USDA NIFA and APLU.

Logan Britton, assistant professor of agricultural economics, was among 10 educators recently honored by the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities, or APLU, and U.S. Department of Agriculture National Institute of Food and Agriculture, or USDA NIFA, with national teaching awards recognizing excellence in agricultural sciences teaching and student engagement at the 136th APLU annual meeting in Seattle, Washington.

Britton was named as one of two recipients of the 2023 USDA NIFA Early Career Award for Excellence in College and University Teaching Awards for Food and Agricultural Sciences. The award recognizes a faculty member, with no more than seven consecutive years of experience in higher education teaching, who has demonstrated a commitment to a career in teaching, exhibited meritorious teaching through scholarship of teaching and learning, and exemplary service to students. The award also includes a $2,000 stipend for improving teaching and advising programs at the university.

Britton teaches courses in agricultural finance, agribusiness logistics, contemporary issues in global food systems and computer decision tools. His research centers on topics related to consumer demand, supply chains, and the scholarship of teaching and learning. Britton also serves as an academic advisor to undergraduate students and mentors doctoral students as instructors. Prior to his doctoral studies and joining the K-State faculty, Britton was a staff member at the U.S. Grains Council in Washington, D.C. Britton earned bachelor's and master's degrees from K-State and a doctorate from Oklahoma State University.