1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Committee members announced for dean of engineering national search

K-State Today

July 2, 2013

Committee members announced for dean of engineering national search

Submitted by April Mason

April Mason, provost and senior vice president, announced the membership of the search committee to lead the national search for the university's next dean of the College of Engineering.

The chair of this committee is Peter Dorhout, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. The university has engaged Baker and Associates to support the search process. The search will be conducted this summer and fall with the goal of having the successor announced by January 2014.

The search committee members are:

  • Peter Dorhout, dean of Arts and Sciences (chair)
  • Vikas Berry, associate professor, chemical engineering
  • Laverne Bitsie-Baldwin, director, multicultural engineering program, College of Engineering
  • Ciera Cathey, undergraduate student representative in mechanical engineering
  • Raju Dandu, professor and graduate program director of engineering technology
  • Scott DeLoach, professor, computing and information sciences
  • Dan Devlin, professor and director, KCARE, K-State Agriculture, Research and Extension
  • Mark Jackson, professor and head, engineering technology at K-State Salina
  • Julia Keen, associate professor, architectural engineering and construction science
  • Molly McGaughey, associate director of admissions
  • Bala Natarajan, professor, electrical and computer engineering
  • Sakshi Pahwa, graduate student representative, electrical and computer engineering
  • Kyle Riding, associate professor, civil engineering
  • Lori Rogge, senior director of development for the College of Engineering
  • Larry Satzler, assistant dean for academics, College of Engineering
  • Gurdip Singh, professor and head, computing and information sciences
  • Gurpreet Singh, assistant professor, mechanical and nuclear engineering
  • Margaret Rys, associate professor, industrial and manufacturing systems engineering
  • Jackie Tweed, senior administrative assistant, College of Engineering
  • Lisa Wilken, assistant professor, biological and agricultural engineering
  • Meg Yaege, engineering advisory board member

"The dean of engineering will play an important leadership role in the future of Kansas State University and achieving our goal to be a Top 50 public research university by 2025," Mason said. "The new dean will join the college at a time of both opportunity and challenge, including the implementation of the University Engineering Initiative Act and the beginning of Phase IV of the Engineering complex building construction. I thank the search committee members for their willingness to undertake the search for our new College of Engineering dean."