1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »K-State College of Education announces outstanding students

K-State Today

May 5, 2023

K-State College of Education announces outstanding students

Submitted by Patrice Scott

Kansas State University's College of Education is recognizing graduate and undergraduate student award winners who excelled in and out of the classroom.

Debbie Mercer, dean of K-State's College of Education, announced the spring 2023 student award winners.

The Outstanding Future Teacher Award recognizes two outstanding future teachers who demonstrate excellence during their professional clinical experiences, as supported and documented by their cooperating teachers, university supervisors and clinical instructors. The winners are Abigail Solomon, elementary education, Overland Park; and Jenri Conley, secondary English education, Centralia.

The Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award recognizes students whose scholarship and leadership left an indelible mark through their college, campus and community activities. They are BrayLynn Anshutz, K-12 physical education, St. John; Bergen Cooper, elementary education, Lenexa; Tess Fairbanks, K-12 Spanish education, Onaga; Lexie Sjeklocha, elementary education, Topeka; and Ashley Duval, elementary education, Coleman, Oklahoma.

The Outstanding Graduate Student in Education Award recognizes both a doctoral and master's student. This year's doctoral recipient is Andrew Dempewolf, curriculum and instruction, Gorham, and the master's recipient is Sally Lopez Gurrola, curriculum and instruction, Manhattan.

The Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award recognizes a College of Education graduate student with teaching responsibilities at K-State during the academic year in which the award is presented. The successful candidate must demonstrate highly effective teaching. This year's recipient is Kerri Anderson, doctoral candidate in curriculum and instruction, Manhattan.

The Social Justice Advocacy Award recognizes leadership that promotes positive interactions and a commitment to the inclusion of persons of marginalized groups within the university or their home communities. Winners must also demonstrate an understanding and appreciation for differences among people and the ability to interact with people from diverse backgrounds, advocating for the fair and equitable treatment of all students. This year’s recipient is Nelofar Khamisani, doctoral candidate in curriculum and instruction, Hyderabad, Pakistan.