1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Save the date: All-University Awards Ceremony set for May 12

K-State Today

May 5, 2022

Save the date: All-University Awards Ceremony set for May 12

Submitted by Office of the President


President Richard Linton and Provost Charles Taber will host the All-University Awards Ceremony and reception from 3:30-5 p.m. Thursday, May 12, in the K-State Alumni Center Banquet Room.

The ceremony and reception will be open to the entire university community, as well as the families of the awardees. Refreshments will be served.

Awardees to be recognized at the ceremony include:

  • Coffman Chair for University Distinguished Teaching Scholars
    • Nathaniel Birkhead, political science
  • Commerce Bank and W.T. Kemper Foundation Distinguished Graduate Faculty Award
    • Barbara Valent, plant pathology
    • Caterina Scoglio, electrical and computer engineering
  • Commerce Bank and W.T. Kemper Foundation Undergraduate Outstanding Teaching Award
    • Brianne Heidbreder, political science
    • Michael Grogan, architecture
    • Michael Krush, marketing
    • Ronald Brockhoff, mechanical and nuclear engineering
  • Commerce Bank Presidential Faculty and Staff Award for Distinguished Services to Historically Underrepresented Students
    • Marianne Korten, mathematics
  • Commerce Bank Presidential Student Award for Distinguished Services in Enhancing Multiculturalism
    • Shumin Li, a third-year student in veterinary medicine
  • Dr. Susan Ariola Bosco Putting Students First Faculty Award
    • Susan Rensing, Social Transformation Studies
    • Kerri Keller, Career Center
  • International Educator of the Year
    • James Drouillard, animal science and industry
  • President's Award of Excellence for Unclassified Professionals
    • Belonging
      • Megan Miller, Graduate School
    • Distinguished Accomplishment
      • Joel Sanneman, anatomy and physiology
    • Leadership
      • Travis Balthazor, K-State Salina unmanned aircraft systems flight and operations
    • Productivity, Creativity, Innovation
      • Laura Schwartz, curriculum and instruction
    • Team Building, Group Activity, Service to the University
      • George Widenor, Global Campus
  • Presidential Graduate Teaching Assistant Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
    • Elizabeth Hale, mathematics
  • Presidential Faculty Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
    • Linda Yarrow, food, nutrition, dietetics and health
  • Presidential Award for Outstanding Department Head
    • Elizabeth Davis, clinical sciences
  • University Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Student in Research
    • Grant Brooke, senior in microbiology
  • University Distinguished Faculty Award for Mentoring of Undergraduate Students in Research
    • Dinh-Liem Nguyen, mathematics
  • University Support Staff Award of Excellence
    • Belonging
      • Margarita Gomez, Lafene Counseling and Psychological Services
    • Office and Clerical
      • Kallie Kolterman, facilities postal center
    • Services and Maintenance/Skilled Crafts
      • Jesica Sellers, libraries
    • Technical and Professional
      • David Anderson, police department
  • University Outstanding Department or Unit Award for Enhancing Diversity
    • College of Business Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Belonging Program