1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Division of Biology awards $164,000 in undergraduate scholarships for 2021-2022

K-State Today

May 27, 2021

Division of Biology awards $164,000 in undergraduate scholarships for 2021-2022

Submitted by Eve McCulloch

K-State's Division of Biology is awarding approximately $164,000 in undergraduate scholarships for the 2021-2022 academic year.

The awards include a projected approximately $102,000 in continuing renewable June D. Hull Sherrid Biology Scholarship and Education Fund awards, currently supporting more than 100 Kansas biology students with health professional career goals. In addition, the Division of Biology recently recognized high-achieving and high financial-need students with one-time awards totaling $62,000. Scholarship winners represent all three of the majors offered in the Division of Biology: biology; microbiology; and fisheries, wildlife, conservation and environmental biology. The division is happy to support so many excellent students pursuing degrees within the program.

The following students earned one-time awards for the 2021-2022 academic year: Miriam Reynaldo, Lydia Waner, Mayece Barnaby, Gibson Hoefgen, Troy Pretzer, Benjamin Beebe, Aden Shorney, Jessie McClellan, Sarah Shaffer - Enloe Family Scholarship; Lane Lundeen, Jian-Yang Huang, Abigail Rick, Kaitlyn Headlee, Regan Konz, Vera Wong-Mageo, Tyrone Taleni, Ryan Donnelly, Caroline Gatschet, Dylan Darter, Nassima Amiar, Elizabeth Sroor, Justine Onnen — Division of Biology Scholarship; Gabriela Shipman — John and Thea Beckman Biology Scholarship; Joel Thompson, Katherine Ediger, Lauren Plum, Cierra Matthews — Floyd C. and Berniece Humbert Butel Biology Scholarship; Natalie Melendez-Velador, Nathalie Wright, Jenna Neyhard — Division of Biology University Distinguished Professors Scholarship; Lauren West — Allan and Carolyn Harms Biology Scholarship; Carter McFadden, Abigail Salberg — Maben Family Scholarship in Biology; Holly Ross, Grace Clark, Sophia Pogranichniy, Chase Johnson, Tristan Burnum, McKenzie Prunty, Cassidy Schmidt, Kalea Nippert, Victoria Gaa, Alyssa Pemberton, Lucy Schermerhorn, Ted Simpson, Makayla Oeding, Kyser Meininger, Anatalia Kerstan, Sydney Tobis, Marchell Hicks, Bailee Tucker, Demi VanMeerhaeghe — Robert K Nabours Scholarship; Thomas Leihsing — Dale and MaryRose Preston — Bosco Family Scholarship; Juliet Nava-Chavez, Florinda Yasmin, Louie Cabrera, Kora Taylor — Dr. Brian Spooner Fund; and Savannah Schneider, Lily Hoover, Kailey Rawson, Jacob Baker — June Hull Sherrid Scholarship.

The following students earned renewable June D. Hull Sherrid Biology Scholarship and Education Fund awards for the 2021-2022 academic year: Hieu Nguyen, Davante Hammer, Cole King, Adara Warner, Charles Worley, Will Sydzyik, Loren Reed, Samantha Vermetten, Taylor Wolf, Irit Sanchez, Lauren Leiker, Udochi Otuonye, Drew Langston, Anna Van Brunt, Alexis Clapp, Concha Campa, Emmanuel Ugwuegbu, Jamia Roberts, Jordan Block, Tristan Cole, Ashlynn Kennedy, Taylor Stephens, John Tumberger, Eli Bullinger, Victoria Bedros, Gentry Shapland, Taylor Bugbee, Benjamin Ramsey, Peyton Kavanagh, Guwin Weerawarna Nilaweera, Kameron Wildeman, Taylor Davison, Evan Bergeron, Caleb Kutz, Kate Brull, Riley Ranzau, Griffin Ashe, Kameron Demars, Nichole Herrmann, Jordyn Coonrod, Sarah Ediger, Indera Coffel, Claire Samuel, Lauren Golec, Tatum Glaser, Dylan Mader, Alicia Perales, Paige Musselwhite, Christopher Hargreaves, Taylor Weidenhaft, Katherine Dickerson, Olivia McCready, Reigan Crawford, Claire Schmidt, Trase Van Byarlay-McQueen, Colyn Heimerman, Hailey Casey, Dominic Castelli, Zane Barrow, Justin Deas, Alexis Cash, Alyssa Long, Shelby Goscha, Samuel Hesse, Keeton Fitz, Porter Adams, Isaac Fitz, Victoria Gaa, Ender Graham, Andrew Haskell, Hannah Hoffman-Colburn, Kate Odgers, Ryan Ranzau, Kourtney Rumback, Lucy Schermerhorn, Kathleen Schuler, Brady Walls, Lauren West, Taylir Charest, Kate Brull, and newly admitted students Makenzie Boley, Lexi Jenner, Samuel Spiker, Macy Bliss, Alexa Fischer, Elizabeth Meyer, Paige Visocsky, Juan Banuelos, Ashley Sawyer, Isabel Campsey, Kinsey Schneider, Seth Krehbiel, Brendan Winzer, Varun Udayar, Valeria Aguirre, Cienna Rezac, Xuan Minh Hang, Alma Cobos, Akilah Johnson, Megha Pillai, Jesse Copple, Jack Arnold and Allie Linhart.

The Division of Biology grateful to the generous donors who made these scholarships possible. Thank you for supporting the success of our students.