1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Sharda recognized for research and education excellence

K-State Today

July 2, 2020

Sharda recognized for research and education excellence

Submitted by Mary Rankin

Ajay Sharda, associate professor, biological and agricultural engineering

Ajay Sharda, associate professor in the Carl and Melinda Helwig Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering, has received the Educator/Research Award of Excellence for 2020, a recognition sponsored by the PrecisionAg Alliance and its partner organizations.

Sharda, a Patrick Wilburn — Carl and Mary Ice Keystone research scholar in the Carl R. Ice College of Engineering at K-State, was cited for his efforts in working with public agencies, partnering organizations and private industries in the development of a high-quality extension and research program focusing on precision agriculture.

"This award reflects Ajay's leadership and global impact in the applications of technologies to food production systems," said Joe Harner, professor and department head of biological and agricultural engineering.

Sharda's work focuses directly on implementation of precision technologies within crop production. He has been funded by more than $5 million in research awards and presents at key industry collaborations around the globe. He also dedicates time to mentoring undergraduate students in research projects while teaching a precision agriculture course.

His program at K-State is well recognized by peers both nationally and internationally, and he holds leadership roles in precision agriculture-focused groups at both state and national levels. Award winners were nominated by industry-academician peers via a five-part essay and then selected by an independent panel of technology experts.

PrecisionAg Alliance named five outstanding individuals in 2020 for recognition in four areas. Each demonstrated exceptional work in the use and adoption of precision agriculture technologies and practices. They join 52 individuals and organizations so honored since the creation of the awards in 2007. Read more about the awards.