1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Kansas State University honors 2018 inventors

K-State Today

May 29, 2019

Kansas State University honors 2018 inventors

Submitted by Beth Montelone

Photo of all inventor honorees

Novel ceramic composites and nanomaterials, vaccines, adjuvants, and diagnostic tests to fight animal diseases, virus-resistant plants, animal models for human disease, radiation source detectors, and a wireless power transfer system were some of the inventions for which K-State faculty, students and staff members received patents in 2018. Improved wheat and winter canola varieties were also officially recognized last year.

Provost and Executive Vice President Charles Taber and Vice President for Research Peter Dorhout hosted a reception on April 22 to recognize and honor the 2018 patent and plant variety protection certificate recipients. The honorees received a patent plaque and first time inventors received a certificate and lapel pin from the National Academy of Inventors. Professor Susan Sun of grain science and industry was recognized for her induction as a National Academy of Inventors fellow.

The inventors recognized at this event join a distinguished group of K-Staters who have worked with the Kansas State University Research Foundation, which facilitates and manages technology transfer for the university.

"We have the pleasure to work with K-State's most innovative minds," said K-State Research Foundation President Chris Brandt. "It's an honor to celebrate these inventors and recognize their accomplishments and hard work."

In 2018, U.S. patents were issued to the individuals listed below. Inventors who achieved patents in 2018 but have since left the university are not listed here.

• M.M. Chengappa, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology.
• T.G. Nagaraja, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology.
• Jessica Rupp, plant pathology, new NAI member.
• Harold Trick, plant pathology.
• Gurpreet Singh, mechanical and nuclear engineering.
• Jishu Shi, anatomy and physiology, new NAI member.
• Xiuzhi "Susan" Sun, grain science and industry.
• Steven Bellinger, mechanical and nuclear engineering.
• Douglas McGregor, mechanical and nuclear engineering.
• John Shultis, mechanical and nuclear engineering.
• Robert DeLong, anatomy and physiology, new NAI member.
• Saeed Khan, school of integrated studies, new NAI member.
• Nathan Maresch, applied aviation research center, new NAI member.
• Stefan Bossmann, chemistry.
• Duane Davis, animal science and industry.
• Deryl Troyer, anatomy and physiology.
• Kyeong-Ok Chang, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology.
• Richard Hesse, veterinary diagnostic lab, new NAI member.
• Yunjeong Kim, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology. 
• Rolan Davis, veterinary diagnostic lab, new NAI member.
• Michael Moore, veterinary diagnostic lab, new NAI member.

2018 plant variety protection certificates were awarded to the following individuals at the university:

• Scott Dooley, agronomy.
• Michael Stamm, agronomy.
• Jeffrey Ackerman, agricultural research center, Hays.
• Allan Fritz, agronomy.
• Rebecca Regan, grain science and industry.
• Kenneth Rohleder, agricultural research center, Hays.
• Clayton Seaman, agricultural research center, Hays.
• Guorong Zhang, agricultural research center, Hays.

View a list of K-State patents awarded since 2009 or find K-State technologies that are available for licensing. For more information, contact the K-State Research Foundation at Tech.Transfer@k-state.edu or 785-532-5720 or visit a website that explains the commercialization process.