1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Manko awards $5,000 in scholarships to two APDesign students

K-State Today

December 20, 2018

Manko awards $5,000 in scholarships to two APDesign students

Submitted by Thomas Jackson

winning project "Dance House"

Roger Clark, a fourth-year architecture student at Kansas State University, Anthony, is receiving a $4,000 scholarship as winner of a College of Architecture, Planning & Design, or APDesign, competition sponsored by Manko Window Systems. Vatsal Patel, also a fourth-year architecture student, India, is receiving a $1,000 runner-up scholarship. 

Clark's project was "MOVE: A Wichita Dance House" from assistant professor Genevieve Baudoin's studio. The design was an assignment in his fourth-year comprehensive studio class, requiring students to integrate conceptual and technical knowledge into one complete project for a presentation with drawings, renderings and models. Following a review, one student from each studio was selected to compete for the Manko award, with each developing a narrative slide presentation to present to judges, who were all established practitioners in the field.

Patel's project was "Solitude and Commune — a Cistercian Monastery" from assistant professor Chad Schwartz's studio.

As part of the graduation requirements, both Clark and Patel will be on academic internship for the spring 2019 semester.

The competition jury:

Rachel W. Zebrowski, member of the American Institute of Architects and president and design director at Miles Associates in Tulsa, Oklahoma. With 30 years of experience, Zebrowski has completed a variety of projects with a focus on corporate headquarters, master planning and academic facilities. Her expertise is in the integration of leading-edge technologies into architecture, enhancing the communication of ideas in work and education environments. After receiving her Master of Architecture from UCLA School of Architecture and Urban Planning, Zebrowski became a founding partner of Page Zebrowski Architects, and a partner with Urban Design Group.

Shannon West, associate principal at Selser Shaefer Architects. In 2002, West joined Selser Schaefer Architects, a 28-person design firm in Tulsa, Oklahoma. For 15 years, he worked closely with founder and lead designer, Bob Schaefer, on some of the firm's most iconic projects. West leads the firm's design efforts. He has extensive experience with programming, master planning and design of a wide variety of project types.

Patrick C. Schoenfeldt, member of the American Institute of Architects and director of architecture at Studio Architecture in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. After graduating in 1985 from the University of Oklahoma's College of Architecture with a Bachelor of Architecture, Schoenfeldt became a leading health care designer at Rees Associates and Brinkley Sargent Architects in Texas, later specializing in sports architecture. In 2001, Schoenfeldt relocated back to Oklahoma, and became a founding member of Studio Architecture.

The following fourth-year architecture students also were selected for the Manko competition: Jacob Frazier, representing the summer studio of Todd Gabbard, associate professor of architecture; Nataani Garnenez, BNIM Studio; Tayvia Navy, representing the studio of Chris Fein, visiting assistant professor of architecture; and Stasha Thomas, BNIM Summer Studio.

In this issue

News and research
Health and safety
Kudos, publications and presentations
Campus construction and maintenance