1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Provost names search committee for College of Veterinary Medicine dean

K-State Today

December 7, 2018

Provost names search committee for College of Veterinary Medicine dean

Submitted by Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President

Chuck Taber, provost and executive vice president, has appointed the search committee to lead a national search for the university's next dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine.

Chairing this committee will be John Buckwalter, dean of the College of Human Ecology. An external search firm to be announced in the next several weeks will support the search. The anticipated start date of the new dean is July 1, 2019.

Search committee members are:

  • John Buckwalter, chair, dean of the College of Human Ecology.
  • Maggie Behnke, associate director/clinical veterinarian of the Comparative Medicine Group.
  • Barry Bradford, professor of animal sciences and industry.
  • Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the K-State Alumni Association.
  • Kimathi Choma, assistant dean for diversity, recruitment and retention in the College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Kevin Dhuyvetter, Elanco cattle technical consultant.
  • Stephen Higgs, associate vice president for research and director of the Biosecurity Research Institute.
  • Brian Hodes, Rose Hill Veterinary Health Center.
  • Kate KuKanich, associate professor of clinical sciences.
  • John Morris, senior vice president of development at the KSU Foundation.
  • Ellyn Mulcahy, associate professor and director of the Master of Public Health Program.
  • Thu Annelise Nguyen, associate professor and director of the Veterinary Research Scholars Program.
  • Cameon Ohmes, veterinary specialist at Bayer Animal Health.
  • David Poole, university distinguished professor of kinesiology.
  • Heather Reed, assistant vice president/associate dean and director of student life.
  • Carol Shanklin, dean of the Graduate School.
  • Aaron White, president of the Kansas Veterinary Medical Association, Norton Animal Health Center.
  • Brad White, professor and director of the Beef Cattle Institute.
  • Sara Wilkes, student in veterinary medicine and president of the K-State student chapter of the American Veterinary Medical Association.

"Our outstanding College of Veterinary Medicine is a source of great pride for K-State and for Kansas, standing at the forefront of biomedical sciences, animal health, food safety and exceptional veterinary medicine,” Taber said. “The dean will lead our College forward in a changing landscape in higher education, animal care, and the animal industry of the state of Kansas and beyond. I thank the search committee members for their willingness to undertake this very important search.”