1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Student Foundation selects 21 new members, wins three awards

K-State Today

April 14, 2017

Student Foundation selects 21 new members, wins three awards

Submitted by Gaby Riggs

Vice President of Campaigns, Anna Meissbach, and outgoing VP of Outreach, Carolina Mach, accept the award for Outstanding Student Organization.

The Kansas State University Student Foundation recently selected 21 new members to serve as the student arm of the KSU Foundation, K-State's official fundraising organization. Student Foundation, comprised of 45 current K-Staters, builds on a legacy of philanthropy through different programs such as K-State Proud and Why I Give Week.

At the Council for Advancement and Support of Education – Affiliated Student Advancement Programs' District VI conference in March, Student Foundation was recognized with three awards: Outstanding Student Organization, Outstanding Student Advancement Program for Why I Give Week, and Maggie Meyer was awarded the Outstanding Student Leader Award. Meyer, as well as Student Foundation, are in the running to receive national awards in all three categories.

Recently, Student Foundation elected seven new executive officers to lead the organization in the 2017-2018 academic year:

Madison McClellan, president, junior in finance and apparel and textile marketing from Palco; Anna Meissbach, vice president of campaigns, junior in French and history, Lawrence; Lane Coberly, vice president of membership, sophomore in industrial and organizational psychology, Manhattan; Kevin Kellerman, vice president of student opportunity awards, sophomore in computer engineering, Leawood; Ethan Kallenberger, vice president of communications, freshman in medical biochemistry, chemistry, Lawrence; Max Meyer, vice president of outreach, freshman in chemical engineering from Lenexa; and Elizabeth Patton, secretary, freshman in pre-law, Lawrence.

Additionally, Baylee Heitschmidt, sophomore in secondary education, Hutchinson, and Gaby Riggs, junior in marketing, Shawnee, were selected as the K-State Proud co-chairs for the 12th year of this nationally recognized, student-led campaign.

The following students were also selected as Student Foundation new members for the 2017-2018 academic year:

Jansen Penny, freshman in agricultural economics, Burlington; Katelyn Bohnenblust, freshman in agricultural education, Clay Center; and Colby Works, freshman in kinesiology and psychology, Iola.

From Greater Kansas City: Max Meyer, freshman in chemical engineering, Lenexa; Alyson Stewart, freshman in kinesiology and nutrition, Olathe; and Luke Curran, freshman in computer science, Overland Park.

Elizabeth Patton, freshman in pre-law, and Ethan Kallenberger, freshman in medical biochemistry, chemistry, both from Lawrence; Elizabeth Meyer, freshman in agricultural education, Marion; Jaiden Ochoa, freshman in psychology and pre-medicine, Newton; Kaine Fredrickson, sophomore in life sciences, Oberlin; Jacey Goetz, freshman in interior design, Salina; Michael Brown, freshman in mechanical engineering, and Blake Medley, freshman in mechanical engineering, both from Topeka.

From Wichita: Zac Donley, sophomore in biology; Kylee Mernagh, freshman in Architecture; and Kaylor Nordhus, freshman in apparel and textile marketing 

From out of state:

Melanie Wertzberger, sophomore in finance, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Kelly Wilkerson, freshman in communications sciences and disorders, Columbia, Missouri; Avery James, junior in political science, philosophy, pre-law, Las Vegas, Nevada; and Grace Volker, sophomore in vocal music performance, Madison, South Dakota.

In this issue

From the administration
News and research
Shared governance
Kudos, publications and presentations
Campus construction and maintenance