1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Phi Kappa Phi honors six faculty members, K-State alumna

K-State Today

May 8, 2014

Phi Kappa Phi honors six faculty members, K-State alumna

Submitted by Communications and Marketing

A university distinguished professor, a CEO and a vice president are among the newest faculty members of Kansas State University's chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation's oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines.

Recently initiated to Phi Kappa Phi based on scholarly distinction were Philip Nel, university distinguished professor of English and director of the graduate program in children's literature; Prema Arasu, CEO and vice provost, Kansas State University Olathe; and Ron Trewyn, the university's vice president for research.

The honor society also has recognized three K-State faculty members with chapter awards for their outstanding work:

• Laurel Littrell, director of library planning for Hale Library staff, received the Artist Award.

• Deryl Troyer, professor of anatomy and physiology, received the Scholar Award.

• Gayle Willard, librarian at the College of Veterinary Medicine Library, received the Meritorious Service Award.

K-State alumna Nancy Grieshaber also received Phi Kappa Phi membership for her longtime service on the university's Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee.

In this issue

From the administration
News and research
From the Office of General Counsel
Kudos, publications and presentations
Publications and presentations
Volunteer opportunities