1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »ConocoPhillips SPIRIT Scholars announced

K-State Today

April 15, 2011

ConocoPhillips SPIRIT Scholars announced

Submitted by Bethany Bohn

Spirit is something that can only be seen if you let it shine. At K-State, there are students who shine so brightly, others can't help but notice. These are the students who earn the honor of being included in the ConocoPhillips SPIRIT Scholars Program — a program that has provided $1 million in scholarships, support and mentorship at K-State each year through a five-year partnership.

The newest class of ConocoPhillips SPIRIT Scholars at Kansas State University was announced Thursday, April 14, during an event at K-State with ConocoPhillips representatives.

Twenty-six students, including 15 new SPIRIT Scholars and 11 continuing SPIRIT Scholars, were recognized by ConocoPhillips, the third largest integrated energy company in the United States during an evening dinner and reception. In addition, 11 graduating SPIRIT Scholars were honored at the event.

"At ConocoPhillips we are proud of our long-standing relationship with Kansas State University and are pleased to have it as a part of our SPIRIT Scholars program," said Rand Berney, senior vice president for corporate shared services at ConocoPhillips, and executive contact for the partnership with K-State. "Many of our best and brightest employees around the world graduated from K-State, and they are an essential and valued part of our success."

ConocoPhillips selected K-State to be a part of its SPIRIT Scholars Program in 2007. The partnership includes a five-year commitment of $1 million to K-State each year for scholarships and support in the colleges of Business Administration and Engineering. The funding also provides support for K-State's Career and Employment Services, the president's office and student life and diversity initiatives.

The support each student receives allows them to focus intently on their studies while at K-State, as well as professional development and career opportunities after graduation. ConocoPhillips' partnership with K-State dates back 50 years.

 "K-State's partnership with ConocoPhillips has led to the development of some extraordinary young professionals, as well as fantastic resources for K-State students across campus," said Kirk Schulz, president of Kansas State University. "ConocoPhillips' partnership with K-State supports our goal of becoming a top 50 public research university by 2025."

The K-State ConocoPhillips SPIRIT scholars who were honored include:

New scholars

Sydney Case, accounting, Wichita.

Rachel Schultze, accounting, Lenexa.

Victor Ojeleye, accounting, Ottawa.

Allison Straub, management, Hays.

Lauren Wissman, accounting, Albert.

Jessica Long, marketing, Lenexa.

Trenton Wilke, chemical engineering, Leoti.

Cord Denton, mechanical engineering, Harper.

Jake Morrissette, mechanical engineering, Concordia.

Kelsey O'Hara, electrical engineering, Ruralville.

Juan Flores, management information systems, Topeka.

Marcus Bragg, computer science, Kansas City, Kan.

Andrew Wagner, management information systems, El Dorado.

Cameron Harder, mechanical engineering, Austin, Texas

Charles Shinogle, management information systems, Weatherby Lake, Mo. 

Continuing scholars

Michael Baalmann, mechanical engineering, Andale.

Kaitlin Chipman, accounting, Olathe.

Emily Coon, mechanical engineering, Lawrence.

Charissa Dugan, finance and accounting, Wichita.

Reese Gehring, mechanical engineering, Moundridge.

Cory Hardman, mathematics and computer science, Lansing.

Emily Jones, mechanical engineering, Mulvane.

Spencer Kaufman, mechanical engineering, Dodge City.

Brad Schnefke, accounting and finance, Shawnee.

Jacqueline Spahn, accounting, Wichita.

Ryan Wilkerson, finance, Columbia, Mo.

Graduating scholars

Calvin Christie, computer science, Waterville.

Katherine Connor, management information systems, Manhattan.

Danielle Devlin, accounting, Manhattan.

Nathaniel Lane, accounting, Leawood.

Joshua Linn, chemical engineering, Abilene.

Anna Miller, accounting, Council Grove.

Timothy Mourlam, Roeland Park.

Danielle Quigley, chemical engineering, Manhattan.

Casandra Robinson, mechanical engineering, Manhattan.

Alan Winter, biological systems engineering, Mount Hope.

Richard Yule, management information systems, Derby.

Philanthropic contributions to K-State are coordinated by the Kansas State University Foundation. The foundation staff works with university partners to build lifelong relationships with alumni, friends, faculty, staff and students through involvement and investment in the university.