1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »2015
  6. »Staley School of Leadership Studies announces inaugural class of Snyder Leadership Legacy Fellows

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Staley School of Leadership Studies announces inaugural class of Snyder Leadership Legacy Fellows

Monday, April 20, 2015


MANHATTAN — The Staley School of Leadership Studies at Kansas State University has selected its inaugural class for its newest leadership development program, the Snyder Leadership Legacy Fellows.

The Staley School, in partnership with K-State Athletics, is offering the program to facilitate leadership development for students based on head football coach Bill Snyder's 16 Goals for Success. These goals have been embraced by many as guiding principles for success in life, family, community and career. Students were selected for the program based on their demonstrated leadership skills and potential.

Snyder has been a strong supporter of the Staley School of Leadership Studies and is a founding member of the school's Advancement Council.

Snyder Fellows will engage in a variety of leadership development workshops, activities and events during the 2015-2016 academic year. The program will honor Snyder and his dedication to Kansas State University, the Staley School of Leadership Studies, his players and the university's students by continuing his work in developing effective leaders on campus, in their communities, in their states and beyond.

For more information on the Snyder Leadership Legacy Fellows program, contact Marcia Hornung, Staley School of Leadership Studies, at 785-532-6085 or hornung@k-state.edu.

The following students, listed with their major, are members of the inaugural class of Snyder Leadership Legacy Fellows:

Trevor Keller, psychology and kinesiology, Albert; Taberie Halling, management, Caldwell; Dryden Baumfalk, kinesiology and nutrition, and Rachel Juenemann, nutrition and health dietetics, both from Colby; Jakob Hutter, history, Derby.

From Greater Kansas City: Angie Szczesny, mechanical engineering, Lenexa; Som Kandlur, public relations, Overland Park; and Isabel Miller, family studies and human services and pre-occupational therapy, Shawnee.

Chance Berndt, marketing, Herington; Krista Sudbeck, communication sciences and disorders, and gerontology, Hiawatha; Mariah Bausch, personal financial planning, Holton; Whitney Berg, secondary education and family and consumer sciences, and Kathryn Fallon, apparel marketing, both from Hutchinson; Ellen Kyriakos, marketing, Lawrence; Elizabeth Harner, agribusiness and international studies, Manhattan; Alexander Smith, kinesiology and exercise physiology, Mankato; Taylor Harms, family studies and human services, Marion; Nathan Laudan, food science and industry, and agricultural communications and journalism, Paola; Cajsa Larson, elementary education, Riley.

From Salina: Martika Chappell, family studies and human services; Shelby Dinkel, secondary education; and Ryan Haxton, public relations.

Colby Haverkamp, communication studies, Silver Lake; Andrew Ewing, industrial engineering, Spring Hill.

From Topeka: Sydney Ho, mathematics and secondary education' Aaron Neely, communication studies; Matthew Taylor, management and entrepreneurship; Sydney Webb, psychology; and Grace Works, criminology.

From out of state:

Katelyn Meek, secondary education-social studies, Longmont, Colorado; Kylie Fairman, public relations, Grand Blanc, Michigan; Sam Nichols, economics, St. Paul, Minnesota; Tiffany Addams, English literature, and Lydia Thomsen, biology, both from Kansas City, Missouri; Kylie Sturgis, majoring in public relations, Wilcox, Nebraska; and Paige Passafaro, majoring in mechanical engineering, Middletown, New Jersey.


Ryan Haxton


Snyder Leadership Legacy Fellows

News tip

Albert, Caldwell, Colby, Derby, Herington, Hiawatha, Holton, Hutchinson, Lawrence, Lenexa, Manhattan, Mankato, Marion, Overland Park, Paola, Riley, Salina, Shawnee, Silver Lake, Spring Hill and Topeka, Kansas; Longmont, Colorado; Grand Blanc, Michigan; St. Paul, Minnesota; Kansas City, Missouri; Wilcox, Nebraska; and Middletown, New Jersey.

Written by

Darrah Tinkler

At a glance

The Staley School of Leadership Studies at Kansas State University has selected the inaugural class of Snyder Leadership Legacy Fellows.