1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Mechanical and nuclear engineering presents its graduating senior awards

K-State Today

Division of Communications and Marketing
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Drive North
Manhattan, KS 66506

April 25, 2022

Mechanical and nuclear engineering presents its graduating senior awards

Submitted by Crystal Strauss

Graduating senior award winners from the Alan Levin Department of Mechanical Engineering. Pictured, from left: Broderick Sieh, Zakary Oster, Jacob Milburn, Ben Murdock, Maren Ellis and Elena Mannebach.

The Alan Levin Department of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering hosted a party and awards celebration for its spring 2022 graduating seniors at the K-State Student Union on April 21.

Each semester, the department presents its Outstanding Seniors and Most Outstanding Senior awards, as well as its Leadership and Service Award. Department faculty nominate and vote on graduating seniors who they deem most outstanding for the Most Outstanding Senior Award, which is given to the student who receives the most votes. The Leadership and Service Award is given by the department head to a student who demonstrates notable leadership and service to the department.

"In my time with the department, the voting for outstanding seniors was the closest I can recall," said Kevin Wanklyn, undergraduate program director for the department. "There were many great candidates."

At the event, two graduating members of the Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering Ambassadors were recognized for their work with the department. As ambassadors, Alex Hill and Elena Mannebach give departmental tours to prospective students and assist with other department projects and events. They are assets to the department and will be greatly missed.

Congratulations to all mechanical and nuclear engineering graduates, nominated outstanding students and the award winners!

Outstanding Seniors:

• Maren Ellis
• Elena Mannebach
• Zakary Oster
• Broderick Sieh

Most Outstanding Senior:

• Ben Murdock

Leadership and Service Award:

• Jacob Milburn